DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Odd Soot
by alx n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 12:13:12

This is a little jewel of a role-playing game, a quasi-perfect introduction to an alternate Earth of the 1920s where space-travel, alien species, and rare but potent magic co-exist, all of it informed by Scandinavian ethics and aesthetics.

The system is Mythras, a branch of Chaosium's famed Basic Role Playing system. Although Mythras can be quite crunchy, here, thankfully, it is presented with a light touch, emphasizing narration and social interactions over hard-core simulation. The book also contains a good, mood and theme-setting first adventure for two to five players.

The world of Odd Soot is very intriguing, lightly allegorical at times, and suffused with hints of Nordic Christian and pagan morality. Evocatively described in light but assured strokes, the vast world is one of low clouds, conspiracies, baffling contraptions, people harboring dark destructive obsessions, and sudden dreamlike visions and encounters.

More, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odd Soot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Stéphane J. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2020 03:42:55

no big pictures of aliens in this core book, but a deep feeling of vast possibilites. rules allows a lot of flexibities. You can manage a world wild and dark or better a more funny place like star wars, but if you pay attention, you can develop a world with a lot of poetry and strange meetings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2020 09:51:53

Over the years, I've wanted to run a sci fi campaign, and I have collected A LOT of different games in hopes of getting one to launch with my group. Alien RPG, Stars Without Numbers, Eclipse Phase, 40k games, Star Wars FFG, Traveller, etc. An eclectic mix to say the least. The reason I love M-space, is because it's a versatile toolkit that helps me tell any store in any tone that I like.

The rules mechanisms are beautiful and easy to learn (Disclosure: I dig d%, skills-based games). The Special Effects aspect of combat seems a bit tricky from a learning curve perspective, but also adds some flair to combat. Starship/vehicle design, alien and world design, this game has exactly what I need at the perfect level of abstraction:detail that I need.

What I love most about this game, is that I can take any published adventure in any of the different systems I noted above and easily convert those adventures into M-space. This means my sci fi exploration campaign can land my team of players anywhere and I can radicaly change tone to reflect a new world or the party's mood.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2020 12:11:31

Link to my review of the M-Space Companion https://chrisbrann.wordpress.com/2020/06/25/review-of-m-space-companion-by-c-redd/ Well worth adding to your M-Space collection for running Sci-Fi games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-SPACE Companion
by Marc A. U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 09:23:53

The companion opens up a whole new dimension of character creation but for me the hacking rules are the cherry on top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Circles of Steel
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 08:34:01

Circles mechanic from M-Space is something I read through but it didn't really click the first time. Circles of Steel gives great examples of actual, living organizations that are modeled with the system. This kind of extra stuff is why I like Frostbyte Books as a publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Circles of Steel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-SPACE Companion
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 08:32:02

M-Space is an excellent adaptation of Mythras rules into science fiction genre. The M-Space Companion fleshes out the basic rules with welcome additions. With cybernetics rules you can run cyberpunk games in M-Space framework and I was especially fond of the Origins character creation option.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-SPACE Companion
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 00:24:50

Good comprehensive supplement for M-Space, especially for those thinking of sprinkling their science fiction with a bit of a transhunan spin. As with the core book, this is a very neat book that crams a lot of information into it in a sleek and stylish way. Good art pieces too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 21:43:44

If you had asked me what I might want to add to M-Space to make it a better toolkit for designing a futuristic universe for whatever SF ideas I might want to create or emulate, I would have had to think about it long and hard. I doubt even then that I would have come up with as useful a companion volume as this one. The M-Space Companion not only adds items 'missing' from M-Space, it expands on material in M-Space in innovative ways that broaden the scope of utility of the product and perhaps the imagination of the reader.

Particular standouts for me were the focused option suggestions and models for prosthetic devices and the deep dive into enhancing character creation.

As usual, the book is easy to read, use, and referenced. Further, it is well-bookmarked and in the 'It's square!" layout that seems to grab the hearts and minds of those who see other M-Space titles in print.

A teaser volume of additional details has also been made available, entitled Circles of Steel.

If you have used a D100 game in the past, or if you are simpy curious, this Mythras Gateway title is a worthy addition to the M-Space core book and can be expected to enhance your setting and character decisions whether you are planning to go for recreating Star Wars or Star Trek at your table, or if you are going to plumb the depths of your own imagination, 'out in the black'~



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elevation
by Del M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 15:59:25

Really great material here and excellent work. Plan to work this into my core rules as I develop my conversion of an old Advanture I wrote for Traveller use back in the 80's. Now converting it to M-Space. Keep up the great stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elevation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-SPACE Companion
by Del M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 15:56:42

Great for mixing into my M-Space stuff. Excellent work. Plan to work this into my rules as I develop my conversion of an old Advanture I wrote for Traveller use back in the 80's. Now converting it to M-Space. Please keep it up. I would love to see A GM Shield with all M-Space and these add on's listed on it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Circles of Steel
by Del M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 15:54:31

So far so good. Excellent work. Plan to work this into my rules as I develop my conversion of an old Advanture I wrote for Traveller use back in the 80's. Now converting it to M-Space.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Circles of Steel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Sebastian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 07:06:24

Being very expierenced GM that I am, I hate being dictated by the rules on how should I run my games, which is the reason I don't really buy into modern RPG design. BRP family is one of a kind; a tabletop-rules systems that is what RPGs were supposed to be in my eyes - a toolbox of rules and statistics that paves the way to our imaginations and helps bringing balance to the adventures and worlds that we create. No more, no less. This is what M-SPACE truely is. It is a complete system, one that does not require you to add or substract anything from in order to run your space-faring game. However it will also not break if you decide to do things your own way, which is not a common thing in a modern era of RPGs, that resemble board games with rules that are there to limit your potential and your imagination, so that every game session plays at the same, rather average level. There are no rules that will dictate how your players should roleplay their characters or how you should run your games. It's a sandbox of a rules system, which means that it has all the necessary rules to run a game in a SCI-FI universe - from PC's skills and attributes to equipment, combat rules, space-faring, alien creation, force (psionic) users and world building.

You can run anything SCI-FI related with M-SPACE and with very little changes. You can easily create Jedi Knight with the rules written here, Space Marine, galactic politican or Stormtrooper. As it is with all the BRP-related games; M-SPACE is very universal in a sense that every character, monster or robot is made of characteristics, attributes and skills. They all follow the same rules, making them more believable and easy to create. I could write much more on why D100 is the best system ever, but it has been said already so many times on the internet, that I don't see a point of repeating what other great minds have already said ;)

I cannot recommend more this game. Buy it! It's the best SCI-FI system that I know, that's for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elevation
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2019 15:19:48

Definitely worth getting. Expands on the already excellent M-Space core rulebook. Is well thought out and a very interesting setting with plenty of room for GM's to build upon. This is a great sandbox setting and the three adventures provided really get the ball rolling. What I liked best is how it gets the most game fun out of the extended conflict rules that make M-Space the leading edge in sci-fi roleplaying. I can't imagine going back to roleplaying without extended conflicts. The adventures in Elevation intelligently apply those rules to make exciting gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elevation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Triton Incident
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2019 09:08:10

I have been impressed with Frostbye Books and Michael Larimore's work. A longtime fan of Runequest, Traveller, and the BRP system this game and its take on the Mythras setting space Sci-fi is fantastic. The world of M-Space has a Traveller feel and the art work invokes a that nostalgia and sense of wonder, yet leave the viewer feeling as if they could easily be present in Mr. Larimore's world. The Triton incident is easily accessible adventure, the players are given a setting/location with several NPC's that feel real and have credible motivations. I don't want to delve too deeply into the story and spoil the content for viewers. I have enjoyed this product as well as its source game material of M-Space. I recommend this adventure as a good introduction or continuation of play in M-Space.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Triton Incident
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates