DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Summer in December
by Phil G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2020 11:24:05

I was lucky enough to enjoy playtesting this adventure scenario as a patron of the 'Effekt' podcast (the author is a co-host of that podcast).

Since then story has been honed and refined, even more. It was already great. I enjoyed the playtest so much that I had planned to run this scenario myself in person at various UK conventions until the current health crisis caused changes to the 2020 global schedule.

There are a couple of different subplots, which keeps the player characters on their toes. The player handouts are top notch and the author has made great efforts to use the FLW 'Vaesen' templates to make something beautiful to read.

There's more than enough depth available for the players and GM to expand this scenario into whatever they need. The presentation is superb and a lot of fun. I haven't yet run the scenario for my home group but it is certainly on the cards that I'll be using this scenario as a good introduction, perhaps something that players can get their teeth into either to dip their toes into the waters, or as an adventure to run between mysteries from the official Vaesen books or as part of a larger campaign. There is a good hint at horror and there's plenty of suspense and mystery.

Biased review? Perhaps a little, but also honest. This product is definitely worth your time if you're a Vaesen GM. If you're in doubt, check out the actual play scenario on the YouTube Free League Showcase. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Summer in December
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Vincent F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2020 07:50:20

A good TTRPG should not only be playable but should be a joy to read as well.

Vaesen is one of those.

A great read, with a simple and easy to understand system. The writing is easy to understand and one can wrap his head around it at the end of the book on what this game is all about.

I find that there are many folklore in my own culture in South East Asia that has similar qualities described in this book and that makes it really easy to adapt this system to my own custom setting.

Overall, brilliant work and I look forward to seeing more supplements for Vaesen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 11:19:53

Great stable system. Good mecahnics for fear and stress being wrapping into the roll. Very impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Cinematic Starter Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Deena M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2020 16:56:05

This is a captivating book--the art is wonderful, the layout is good, and the system is clear. What really clinched it for me, though, was the artful setting. Baked into the system is a way to pull player characters together in a cohesive story from the outset. A lot of mysteries about the Vaesen and the Society tease from the beginning of character creation. Faerie done well, in which there are reasons for mortals to interact with the fey, as opposed to artifice, are not common in RPGs. I think it's a rich resource for a long-running story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales from the Loop RPG Starter Set
by Jesper C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 02:27:00

We played through this adventure yesterday with three of the pregenerated characters, and it was the best time I've had with any game in a very long while. Here are some of the aspects I liked most:

  • The simplicity and elegance of the rules made it super easy to get into. The mechanics for pushing rolls especially made for good roleplaying opportunities when there's a certain check a player really wants to succeed on.
  • The pregenerated characters are all a lot of fun individually but also have a fun chemistry together. I'm really shipping Fredrik and Linda ending up together.
  • The adventure itself is well written and gives a lot of different options how to approach each situation, whether it's by sneaking past, talking your way through, hacking a robot, or brute force (the last one I wouldn't recommend).
  • There's just a huge amount of polish and detail in this product and it shows. From the handouts to the fact that each of the kids has a favorite '80s song, I love every bit of it.

In conclusion, I would really recommend picking this up if you're even mildly interested in the setting or just want to play a game focused less on violence and more on solving mysteries and just being kids. We will definitely continue by playing through the adventures in the main book!

PS: There's an "actual play" video of this game over on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBs876fmCJI

PPS: There's also a version of the adventure on Roll20, which I would recommend getting instead if you're playing there. I only noticed after I bought it here, so I ended up copying some screenshots from the PDF into Roll20, which worked out fine too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales from the Loop RPG Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mörk Borg English
by Dave S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2020 17:07:22

It looks really cool, but in the end it's basically a zine that doubles as another grimdark OSR. Other than the (admittedly great) graphics, there's not much here that hasn't already been done by WFRP/Zweihander, Shadow of the Demon Lord, Xas Irkalla, etc.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Things from the Flood RPG: Rulebook
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2020 17:06:41

Things from the Flood may be the best roleplaying game I have ever owned or run. Its mechanic is simple, compelling and focussed on things that drive players to roleplay. I have found it a joy to GM, it allows you to focus on the narrative over dice rolling. Its also a game that is perfect for these times, a sense of hope lost pervades most of what we do right now, whether its the failure of governments or the people we are in truly troubled times.

Mechanically the Game requires the players to own the rolling of dice, GMs set difficulty targets which are measured through a number of successes required to complete the task. The year zero engine system (Free Leagues go to mechanic) plays out extremely well here (6's on the dice are successes, the players have a dice pool comprised of Stat, Skill and any other bonus they can scrounge up). Failures can reuslt in conditions, which firstly reduce the dice pool for a player going forward and if enough are accumulated can result in the player being broken.

The rulebook contains a well documented campaign, character creation and GM sections as well as a alt history take that builds on the original Tales from the Loop and extends it. Overall its a joy to own and run.

A couple of inspirations to draw upon, the recent Tales from the Loop TV Show on Prime is actually more aligned with Things from the FLood that the original Loop Game. In addtion the later Stranger Things Seasons are a clear source of inspiration. This is a game that at its heart is a realisation of all the teen troupes, carry those awkward memeories into the Game and you'll have endless inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Things from the Flood RPG: Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Henrik J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 15:18:50

See link for comprehensive video review: https://youtu.be/ByHHN7xwniM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2020 00:45:20

The setting for the game is great. It is the very best "fearie" or "dark gothic fearie" I have ever seen. First time I have no problems with the idea behind it all and with details. Great, inspiring, evocative. I was affraid that this game will be one dimensional monster of the week, it is far more then that. Core book is great and i can see a room for expansions. It is most surprising product for me for a long, long time. Mechanics are simple, easy to use and great for the setting. Great fearie game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mörk Borg English
by Ryan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 21:35:12

Ever since Basic Dungeons and Dragons, fresh creators have been improving and changing, the original game into something different but recognizable. With this knowledge it's impossible to say that something is the perfect version of D&D because next year or decade there will most likely be an even cooler improvement to D&D. But for now, Murk Borg is currently the best version of Dungeons and Dragons. This is the most radical change to the classic system and it manages to capture what people expect to play when they hear about D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Maps and Markers Pack
by Th R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 05:10:07

I am a big fan of FL's products, but this PDF is a disaster. It consists of the map of Hadley's Hope from the corebook, a map which is available free from the FL website (as it should be) and some tokens, which, as the discussion thread points out, can't even be used as VTT.

That's it. There's nothing else. Not the pregens from the corebook. In fact, there's nothing here that shouldn't be available as free downloads from FL directly. Other companies offer pregens, maps and handouts for their starter adventures, so why does FL charge, especially given the fact they do offer the main draw, the maps, for free elsewhere? I got this in the Xmas in July sale, and I'm still annoyed at having spent any money on it at all. Very poor form, FL. Very poor indeed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Maps and Markers Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Symbaroum - Core Rulebook
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2020 16:05:54

An excellent dark fantasy setting. Knights collide with barbarians, elves collide wth humans, religion collides with magic. This is a politically charged game of clashing cultures against the backdrop of a grim and perilous world full of weird and mysterious magic just beyond the city walls. If you want an injection of politics and horror into your fantasy game then this is an excellent title to pick up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbaroum - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by William L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2020 18:47:39

I played this game last year at Gen Con. It didn't disappoint. The GM knew the rules very well and was able to explain everything thoroughly so we were able to get a true sense of the game. The dice pools are fun and dramatic and there were some definite disasters with the stress die. When the action started, the rules and skill checks kept things at a great pace. I really liked the ally/adversary aspect. It really adds a lot to the RP and how players approach different situations. No one at the table realized that one of the company suits had sat down to play, not even the GM. It was great to see a developer get involved like that and recognize a guy who was being the salesman to "sell" their product. I've played a lot of demo games at Gen Con and the GM can make or break an on the fence decision to buy the game. I was skeptical though. A huge 400 page book for a story that I thought had largely been told. What, if any, kind of campaign was their available. Thet is where the gem of the RPG is located, in the setting. The developers created a rich setting to have a proper campaign. The story didn't finished with a mushroom cloud on LV-426....not by a long shot, although I bet your players might wish it so. Space commies, evil corporations, space goo and horrible blood thirsty aliens is enough content for any proper campaign. The first written adventure, Chariot of the Gods is a fine taste of what horrors await any crew. I highly recommend this RPG. Superbly written, well polished and detailed. I can think of few other books that offer such content for price. If your a fan of the Alien franchise, well you probably already have this or should get it. I will definitely look forward to future releases, and playing this with my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Joe A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2020 03:41:15

Finnished our first story of a 'space truckers' sandnox campaign. I loved the 'stress and panic' mechanic, the way mounting fear pushed characters to both exceede their normal limits but face the growing threat of simply loosing it due to the terror really added atmosphere and added a whole new layer of tension to violent confrontations. The damage and critical system is satisfyingly brutal it has enough rules crunch to be nasty without bogging down.

IF i where to pick one minor critisim its that the rulebook prizes asthetics over readability. It drips atmosphere and certainly suits the vibe of the game but its not one tI found easiy to flip through to find stuff untill I already already have a fair idea where to look. This was a sufficently minor problem for me that I didnt drop it a star, but others may find it harder.

All in all an excellent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Symbaroum [5E] - The Promised Land
by Emma B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 17:54:58

I've always been curious about Symbaroum, but i've never actually played because i wasn't in the right mind set to learn a new system. When i found out there was a 5e version i had to have it! I've just finished reading it this afternoon and i'm in love with it! I can't wait to see more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Symbaroum [5E] - The Promised Land
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 123 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates