DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Historia - Dark Fantasy Renaissance Setting for 5e
by Iulian-Ioan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2021 04:33:10

Awful english localisation. Missing words and the change from second to third person in the same sentence when explaining class/subclass features (you gain - the player playing the character; they gain - the characters that are this class/subclass) makes it hard to understand when something affects the PC and when it affects other targets. Capitalizations are sometime missing. The problems go on and on.

It's a real shame because the product has a huge potential of becoming a classic. Even if you're not tempted to play the setting (which is very interesting), you can take what you like from it and mix it in your own homebrews. For example, even if you don't want to play in a Renaissance Fantasy Setting full of beastsfolk, I can easily see someone using all the other player options to run a campaign in something like Innistrad.

There are lots of great ideas undermined by this translation. I'm sure the original italian version is vastly superior. This product doesn't suffer from a lack of imagination and talend, regardless if we're talking about mechanics or artwork (the artwork is superb), but from a bad case of poor localisation.

If you don't know italian, but you're willing to persevere through the read to make sense of the RAI, you'll have at your disposal an amazing 5e derivate system. Just be sure to make notes onwith how you think things are supposed to work.

If you're like me, don't bother for the moment.

PS: I'll gladly edit my review if things change for the better. I really hope this book improves. I want to see it succed, but it currently needs more proofreading and editing.

PPS: I'm not a native english speaker.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Historia - Dark Fantasy Renaissance Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - Maps Pack
by Enrico P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 11:47:39

The images are nice, but the actual few battle maps aren't really useful for Roll20 since the squares are already drawn and are hard to match with the grid. If I buy a product I'd like to use it without having to spend time to make it work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - Maps Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGs and the Declaration of Intents
by Andrea T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 04:18:46

The declaration of intent really changed my sessions and I was waiting for this publication. A clear declaration of intent can prevent you unwanted misunderstanings and discussions at the table (and also at the end of the session). This is a great tool that you should definitely try. This guide tells you why the declaration of intent is important (and when) and how to write one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGs and the Declaration of Intents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGs and the Declaration of Intents
by Rossana F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 14:00:14

A must-have for RPG players!

I think the DoI is an absolutely fantastic tool.

This document helps a lot in "smoothing" issues that everyone experiences while dealing with a game session. Riccardo Caverni addresses very crucial and problematic aspects of RPG games: from the organisational ones to the rules-related ones; from the definition of the setting to the main themes of our adventures. And we are offered a simple but powerful solution to improve our game and build a true "shared mind's theatre": the Declaration of Intent.

Very well-written, easy to understand, and with a lot of good artworks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGs and the Declaration of Intents
by Andrea L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 07:50:18

The DOI can easilly solve tons of "usual" problems in our gaming session. I was one of the "tester" of this solution and I'm very happy to finally see this great pubblication.

Also the layout is great and the illustrations are super funny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Historia - Lorebook
by Serat S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2020 09:20:26

Bellissimi disegni! Storie molto affascinanti che danno l'opportunità di avere una visionione di questa fantastica ambientazione. Mi aspettavo un lorebook un po' piu corposo (80 pagine ma bisogna considerare che la metà sono di disegni), ma nonostante ciò sono comunque innamorato, non vedo l'ora che esca anche il corebook e l'adventurebook! -



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Historia - Lorebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 2.Frozen Tears
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2019 03:44:18

The second installment in The Rune Thief adventure path. The new seer has arrived in Uppsala, and the party is tasked with tracking down ingredients for him. There is a bit of scenic and thematic exploration, and some fun and interesting combats encounters. There are a couple issues like the map being nonsensical (you travel from point 2 and skip by point 6 to get to 3, then go past 6 again to get to 4, then go past 6 and 7 to get to 5, then double back to hit 6? It makes no sense!) It's nice that there's a time crunch, but the time spent seems to assume you skip some of the encounters on the map which, afaik, are not skippable, so it's rather confused. The other minor gripe is that the intro text is too long and uninteruppted. I never like reading such a long narration to the party without giving them some bits to interact with.

Spoilers here. I liked the thematic bits for the party to interact with: the dead ravens, the forest mist, and the mysterious body. The Shivering Fisherman had nothing to do, and why he offers the tent to the party when they're on a time crunch is beyond me. The dangerous ice is a fun environmental addition to the combat. My players never investigated the ship though, given there's no obvious reason to do so, and so we skipped one of the combat encounters. The adventure should have had a reason for them to investigate it. One other issue I found was that if the players don't want to tread out on the ice to investigate the obviously dangerous skeleton, there's no way forward.

This adventure was the best Journey to Ragnarok one yet, better than the campaign book, The Grey Wanderer, or the first Rune Thief scenario. It's fun for a JTR campaign or could be easily adapted for any campaign that's in a cold climate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 2.Frozen Tears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2019 19:23:54

I bought this expecting a standard four hour adventure and was first surprised by the lack of content which really only covers 2 hours at best. The adventure is thematic and has interesting twists particularly the Futhark circles you find. There are a few logical and mechanical issues with the adventure though, and while some can be remedied, some can't.

Spoilers in this paragraph. The issues I had were that the scene of death you come upon has no clear link to the task the party was sent on. There should have been some evidence linking it to the guy you're looking for. The defensive Futhark around the cave was too easy to overcome. There should have been some other way to deactivate them, and a clear indiciation that they were deactivated. My players deactivated it but had no way of knowing. At the end of the adventure, the players have to decide whether to traverse a storm or wait it out. But there's not a huge time push on them. The quest giver needed to make the time crunch an issue, or Thorghest make the case, because there's little reason not to stay without knowing there'll be consequences. And the biggest issue, one which has no fix, is that the whole final leg of the adventure is optional and inconsequential. My players' decisions skipped the entire part. Content should be designed in such a way to be encountered, not avoided. But even if they do encounter it, and even if they fail tons of saves and get bad rolls, they still arrive back at Uppsala and can recover everything because the adventure ends there! This type of consequence has to be done before a fight, not at the end of an adventure! Huge misstep from the writers on this one.

Overall it has a few cool aspects, extremely simple investigation and trail following, and it's good setup for the next adventure, but it suffers from a few issues and is too short to fill a session. My players wanted to play in Journey to Ragnarok, and this adventure is a lot better than the relatively bare sandbox offered in the Adventure and Setting book. Even considering all the issues I'd probably buy and run it again, but I'd have to make some changes to a couple spots and work hard on adding extra stuff to it to fill a session.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
by John-Paul T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2019 05:43:29

hello

quick review of the Rune Thief - BUY IT

longer review of the Rune Thief...

After playing the Grey Wanderer (TGW) and having a blast playing it, I felt a bit underwhelmed with how much I would need to do with the levels 1-7 for full campaign of Journey to Ragnarok to make it awesome.

My players reported how great the Grey Wanderer was and I was concerned that I would have to work quite hard not to let them down.

Fear not the Rune Thief is impressive and everything I loved about TGW is here and our Journey to Ragnarok shall start later this year!

This is part 1 of 9 and is a tight Norse soaked adventure in which gives a great adventure experience for the world that has been richly created by Andrea, Michele and co.

I will be ready on the 1st of each month anxiously waiting for each part..

Well done everyone involved with it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 12:13:24

This is a great, solid, start for big things to happen. Really suggested expecially if you alredy bought the Journey to Ragnarok main book. This is just the part one of a series of adventures but it really set the tone. If you haven't started your Journey to Ragnarok with The Grey Wanderer this can be another route to take. Can't wait to have my player face this events too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - Adventure and Setting for 5e
by Peter G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2019 17:48:53

I love this setting for 5th ed D&D! I am a big fan of everything Viking and this hits the spot. The various versions of the character classes are well done and thematic and the new class features give a nice change from the usual classes from the PHB. There is a completley new class introduced as well, the Runemaster, that uses a cool mix of wizard, druid and cleric spells along with its own special rune circle magic.
The setting is well detailed and the DM Screen and 24 sided rune die help imerse the players as does the art book (which is very nice!). I have been both a player and a DM now for the game and have enjoyed being on both side of the screen. My player group came into it completely novices knowing nothing of the setting and got sucked into it quite quickly! They were all set for more even before we finished the first session!
The setting is easily accessable and the rules are clear and easy to impliment as well. I highly recommend picking this up and giving it a go! If you have a love of all things Viking then grab this and hit the shore with your raiding party! SKOL!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - Adventure and Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - Adventure and Setting for 5e
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 11:12:04

This compendium is so easy to use. If I didn't know better, I would have sworn it was published by WotC. The quality is fantastic and the ideas explored are filling in so many holes my players wanted (strength monks for example). We have yet to do the adventure but I am very excited to dive in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - Adventure and Setting for 5e
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 01:18:58

As a person with Nordic roots ( Finnish ), I was happy to see that this setting delivers the actual feel of the Norse mythos, instead of the diluted pop-culture Hollywood fluff. This is obviously because of the deep research that the author has gone into for this supplement. The setting is expansive although I feel that it needs some more crunch. The adventure chapters could have used more information on how to actually run them, like for instance, the transition between one chapter and the next. A little bit of narrative between one plot point and another would have been nice, especially for newer DMs. Although, with a little effort, running this adventure in this setting can be a flavorful and unique experience at the table for players and dungeon masters alike. In other words, this setting offers a new D&D 5e experience. This setting also does a great job with things like standard statblocks ( for the Gods ) and setting-specific rules ( like the brutal sailing rules ). This setting brings out the brutality and the esoteric nature of Norse Mythology really well ( like the Draugr battle ) with good writing, great art and vivid characters.

Overall, if you want to play a Viking and travel the Nine Realms for glory and adventure, this book is your #1 choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Grey Wanderer
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 03:51:35

A great way to showcase this setting as this adventure seamlessly blends Norse mythology with the mechanics of D&D 5e. The story is flavorful and the evocative artwork supports the themes in the adventure. The layout is clean and well organized, making it easy to run for DMs with any level of experience. The plot is racy and fun to play.

Overall, this adventure creates a lot of interest in this unique setting by giving us a taste of what Journey To Ragnarok is all about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Grey Wanderer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Grey Wanderer
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 15:28:39

Really good! Was very excited to finally get my hands on it! Always been interested in running a campaign set in a Norse setting and finally get to dip my toes into it with this adventure! I look forward to the full release of Journey to Ragnarok, and the other adventures like this one such as Twilight of Doom and Battle beyond the Seas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates