DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 04:16:46

Bayt al Azif is definitely worth checking out. Big fan, more than just game related stuff. Very happy that someone is doing a Cthulhu-centric zine in hardcopy. Ia Ia!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Chantel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2021 20:56:09

I have been playing Call of Cthulhu at various conventions for several years now, and I have had the great pleasure to get to the editor Jared Smith as a player and a Keeper. The love and excitement that he brings to those in-person sessions are evident in every page of this magazine. I like that his scenario "Double Dare" is detailed enough so that a novice Keeper like me can feel confident enough to run it on my own, even though my plans to run this for several groups of friends have all been thwarted by the pandemic. Curse you, COVID!

I look forward to future issues of this title. Thank you, Jared and your many contributors!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Steve D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2020 04:39:18

An excellent resources for fans of all Mythos gaming. A round up of recent products, a couple of scenarios, letters, background material. All you might want from such a magazine with good layout and a great cover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Evan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2020 21:15:01

This is the first issue I've picked up, but I will definitely go back and get the first two once I finish this. It's a very strong magazine! The interview with Sandy was well done, the review of 2019 in Cthulhiana reminded me of several things I need to pick up, and it's fun to see new scenarios and get inspired. Great work, team!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #3: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Bridgett J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2020 10:31:27

Bayt al Azif is a great Mythos Magazine for both new and veteran players/Keepers. There's a thorough Retrospective breakdown of 2019's Cthulhu products that's sure to encourage and inspire some future purchases for your collection. The layout is crisp and has hyperlinks to other sections of the magazine and direct to purchase items. I thought this was very useful. I've only read 1/3 scenarios so far, In the House of Glass, by Gail Clendenin. This scenario is easy to pick up, easy to run and really pushes Investigators to find clever and "cool" solutions for a very "hot" situation. My favorite piece is an article by Jared that breaks down Sanity loss costs. THIS IS SUPER USEFUL, especially as an independent content creator. Aside from the brilliant cover art, there is a lot of FANTASTIC imagery within the magazine. Can't wait for the print option to be available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by eric v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 11:37:31

A new and promising Cthulhu-RPG (primarily Call of Cthulhu and Trail of Cthulhu) fanzine chock full of interesting scenarios, interviews, reviews, and articles pertaining to gaming Yog-Sothothery. The Keeper will find scenarios with settings near and far, in eras ranging from the 8th Century to the modern day; the grognard will find several short but charming essays on vintage RPG products; and players and Keepers alike will find several pieces on how to improve play. As if that wasn't enough of a satisfying buffet, those interested in peeking behind curtains will find interviews with industry contributors and authors. Illustrations and layout are lovely and easy on the eyes, and the PDF edition is generously bookmarked, making it easy to quickly find not just the article one was looking for, but to quickly access relevant pages within each scenario.

One wonders how the editors and publisher can possibly follow up such a nearly-perfect production, at the same time eagerly awaiting issue #2. Mostly the latter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2018 13:29:34

This mag is chocked full of great content covering a wide breadth of Mythos gaming. The interviews are interesting, timely, and engage with important issues. A Dark Ages, Modern, Solo and Vietnam War scenario? Wow. My favorite part is letters to the editor with responses. This has fallen away from modern periodicals and it is nice to see this "delayed" dialogue back in an era of instant communication. I swear there is as much content in this issue as in some supplements with double the page content. This is a great value and the best new fan-created product of 2018 for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by Marco M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 14:26:30

I usually don't leave reviews but... holy hell, this zine is good. For modern (and non modern) horror games is probably the best I've read so far. I would said that the overall quality is better than Unspeakable Oath (that I love) and probably Black Seals (the PISCES centered zine). Please support it cause I want to read more ;)

  • The scenarios are well formatted with summary san loss table at the end and a schematic highlight of the investigation (they took the best design practices from the GUMSHOE scenario and imported it to CoC)
  • It has everything from 8th century to modern era
  • It has rules for GUMSHOW and CoC (and it's dead easy to convert to DG and FoDG, in particular the Vietnam scenario)
  • The reviews are comprehensive and amazing
  • The new tables and rules for on food chases... I personally didn't like the chase system when I first saw on CoC7th, but after Seth Skorkowsky review of the system and analysis with exemples I got hooked, and I've imported it to all my DG and FoDG game. This article gives you an amazing toolbox to improve the chase system or create one on the flight. I.LOVE.IT


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bayt al Azif #1: A magazine for Cthulhu Mythos roleplaying games
by William F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 13:52:05

I really enjoyed the magazine; from the art, articles, and the scenarios all of it is really good. While I haven't had a chance to run any of the scenarios so far the Conspiracy in Damascus is one I hope to run soon. The break down of the Cthulhu content of the year along with kickstarters was a really nice feature I'd like to see again and the article on 'Rebooting Campaigns with Modern Sensibilites" was a thought provoking one on things that should be considered when you adjust campaign to your group or adding your own context to improve it. The history articles were fun and the interviews were fun. That comic on character creation is one I'm thinking of showing players who may want to set up some effects in a campaign for their roleplaying.

Overall its really good buy and looks great for a collection. I Hope to see another issue!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates