DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ultimate Bundle: Combat Cards Full Set (5E)
by Rich S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2021 21:30:10

Spell cards - Most information is there. The only thing missing is which classes can use the spell. The font size can get pretty small on some of them. I think some should have been edited down to get a bigger font. The biggest gripe here though is that I would have liked to see these arranged by class or level vs strict alphabetation as this means you will waste a lot of ink having to unnecessarily print copies of spells you don't need. This problem would come about if you wanted to print a bard and sorcerer deck or just a low level spell deck. 2 stars

Monster cards - Everything you need is there and easily readable with a few cards that have very small text due to the wide ranging abilities. Also includes lair and legendary actions on separate cards. My only gripe here is that the titles of some creatures should be better arranged for alphabetation purposes. IE Instead of "Adult Blue dragon" it should be "Blue Dragon, Adult" or "Dragon, Blue Adult" 4 stars

Item cards - All information is there. They are all arranged by item type. Same complant as the spell cards. The font size can get pretty small on some of them. I think some should have been edited down to get a bigger font. 4 stars

Spellcaster cards - Not sure how usable these are given the small size. Would have much rather seen these as quarter sheets. 2 stars

PC cards - Most information a DM would need can be entered. Would have liked a section to put in a pertenant proficiency or two of my choice but that is a minor gripe. 4 stars

The set does come with templates for all cards so you can make your own. However, after using the monster set it is apparent that you get one less line in the bottom section. I attempted to copy a dragon setup but was unable to do so due to this limitation. But worse is the tab set up. The tab button will take you from card to card rather than field to field in the same card. 3 stars

Overall - 3 of 5 stars



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Bundle: Combat Cards Full Set (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
by Beau Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2020 02:21:13

As with all the Arcane Library adventures (I own three of them), the layout of the adventure is exactly as advertised: amazing. You can definitely pick this up and run it without reading through it even once, and is designed for maximum usability at the table, especially if you're using a computer to DM.

The only thing I take issue with is this being a two to three hour adventure. I honestly can't imagine how this adventure would take this long -- it's essentially four encounter areas, and most of them push the group to keep going forward to outrun a slow-moving threat. Once in that room, there's a major final boss who is clearly such, so player characters will almost certainly go nova and use all their resources to bring it down. (Which is good, since it's pretty tough for second level characters.)

We finished the adventure in about 90 minutes.

That said, the adventure once again has plenty of creepy flavor. Since the character with the highest passive perception in my group was a druid, I described the black spots on an NPC's tongue as resembling a parasitic fungus, which was both good foreshadowing and which also ratcheted up the tension.

The only other quibble I have, other than the inaccurate length is the offered reward suggestion (a keep) is really good. I made it an overgrown keep in Golden Valley, which the player characters view as a mixed blessing, but it's a pretty major and potentially game-changing reward to drop in instead of something more traditional.

Overall, an excellent adventure, especially when you need a flavorful adventure to run on short notice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bundle of Horror 2 (5E)
by Tony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2020 02:40:34

I ran The Horror Within from this bundle and we had great fun. It has a sanity point mechanic tied to D&D 5e's Madness rules. The amount of combat is actually not that much. The final fight can potentially take a long time but my party of PCs fireballed the small fries and that simplified things a lot in my game. However, if you make effective use of the sanity loss mechanic, the adventure really shines. The casual way the madman at the beginning treated death and murder sets the tone. Midway through, once one of the PCs accumulated enough sanity loss, I described the distorted perceptions and let the players figure out which version of reality they perceive is real and which one isn't. That wasn't hard actually, since most of the party made their saves, but it got them all sufficiently weirded out that I consider the session a great success.

If you want a combat focused adventure where the PCs can shine with excellent tactical maneuvers and careful use of resources, this isn't it. This one is psychological horror where everyone knows something is wrong but they aren't sure exactly what and they start feeling there's someone behind them and they looked and there's no one. The final fight was actually a relief for them because it's something they can fight to get things back to normal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bundle of Horror 2 (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Combat Cards: Campaign Bundle Core Set (5E)
by Avis R. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2020 10:16:00

I bought the Arcane Library- Campain Bundle Set... and I use it like crazy!

I am constantly looking for new and better ways speed up my DM interactions, and I bounce back to these cards EVERY time. My latest/greatest setup is: -my device: DM screen + notebook + story line pdf + arcane library pdfs -an organized baseball/mtg binder full of monsters/pc/items/spells cards I need -my maps, handouts, and miniatures

At start of combat, I'll notebook everyones initiative and put those cards in order. At the end of their turn, I put their card on the back of the pile and call the next card/player.

If someone picks up an item miniature or reveals hidden items, I can hand them the card on the spot because each room has it's own binder page.

If a player cant remember a spell their character uses, I can flip to it on the pdf or let them use it from my spell cards.

I've tried hundreds of sheets and forms and trackers, but cards are so much more versitile than anything else I've used.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Combat Cards: Campaign Bundle Core Set (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masque of the Worms (5E)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 09:04:24

Time.  So precious lately. I needed to be able to quickly get characters into and out of great narrative, keep it interesting and cut prep time way down.

Once I bought one first-tier module, from this author, I read it and then bought them all.  The layout of each piece with a dramatic question was perfect.  The combat cards!  Video guide!  And she then comes back with surprise content (you'll see).   So play ready.

I also have received update for them all.  Arcane keeps on giving.

The flavor of this piece is so different from a dungeon crawl and allows the GM and players to role-play the reactions to the horror, enhancing the experience.   If you want ready to play fun, try this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masque of the Worms (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treaty of the Tiger King (5E)
by D. A. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2019 01:25:55

This module is more of an interlude than a full-on adventure, but honestly that’s perfectly desirable and, at times, necessary. The social encounter and treaty tables in this adventure are infinitely adaptable and reusable in any number of adventures where politics, negotiations, etiquette, or persuasive dinner talks are applicable. Tiger King could serve as a segue or intro to any urban adventure setting.

TotTK is a prime example of the Arcane Library’s innovative style and depth of creativity. The exotic story is fun and engaging, providing both combat and intrigue scenarios for players, but the colorful social encounters are the takeaway from this module. The usefulness and flexibility of the tables make them ready to drop into your own DM toolbox for use in session after session of tabletop role-playing.

With hooks that could plausibly lead into other Arcane Library adventures, a unique approach to table tactics and role-playing that isn’t often seen in casual games (at least in my experience), and the ever-inspiring brilliance of Kelsey Dionne’s authorship, “Treaty of the Tiger King” is a must-read for any daring DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treaty of the Tiger King (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Watchers in the Dark (5E)
by Dason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2019 01:19:31

This module ranks as one of my favorites—among "Delian Tomb" and "Village of Hommlet"—for starting out lower-level parties. Though built for 4th-level parties, this adventure is scalable and adaptable to any brigade of heroes.

Nothing says "Let's play some f&%ing D&D" quite like throwing a flaming ball of space dust into your players' laps and sending them to investigate. From its memorable, meaningful NPCs to its fearsome, formidable foes, this adventure sustains its impetus and thrives on thrills.

Compact design, fast-paced action, and built-in freedom for creative expression make "Watchers in the Dark" a fantastic one-shot for friends or an exciting episode for live stream. The Arcane Library never fails to deliver comprehensive material that is spine-tinglingly good, hair-raisingly delicious, and forever inspiringly curious.

13/10 it's a sin not to buy this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Watchers in the Dark (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
by Jesse W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 19:26:57

Another great one-shot game from Arcane Library. It screams, "Run me if you have five minutes or less to prep but still want a good time." First, the layout. It's attractive and makes it easy to extract information from each page (especially because of the bolded keywords), even if you are running this on the fly. The text itself helps, too. There's just enough information to make everything clear and easy to run, and there's not so much that you have to spend time searching. The Dramatic Questions make it easy to begin and end scenes, and the PDF itself has incredible functionality. If you DM with a tablet or laptop nearby, there are built-in links to the SRD that can make looking up a monster or item a breeze. (There are also item and monster cards included that can save you from flipping through books if you run a tech-free game.) And of course, there is a custom boss monster that will be nice to have around if you want to extend the story or drop into your own homebrew adventure. Basically, if you want something fun and easy to run, get this. Likewise, if you are thinking about publishing your own adventure, get this to see how high the bar for making DM's lives easier has been raised.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Combat Cards: 495 Pre-Filled Item Cards Expansion Pack (5E)
by Jesse W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 18:52:50

These are so great! I've been making my own item cards in Word docs to make my players' lives easier, but these cards save me from scrambling to make my own at the last minute. Literally everything is here, so I don't have to worry if I decide to roll on a random table during a game. I also love that there is a printer-friendly option. Thank you for making such a practical game aid!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Combat Cards: 495 Pre-Filled Item Cards Expansion Pack (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
by justin b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2019 09:35:17

In fair disclosure I received a copy of this adventure in PDF form for a fair review.

Valley of the Gilded Tower is the follow up adventure to Masque of the Worms, which resides in the Edgar Allan Poe series of adventures. This means that each adventure has coloring and themes described in these stories and poems and they are clearly presented in the first pages of the adventure and carry through the adventure.

This adventure clocks in at 16 pages including cover and OGL statement at the end.

Pros: Layout is well done double column with full color art that fits the theme and tone of the adventure well. Playable in what looks to be 2-4 hours each NPC has a block when introduced in a scene, with their Appearance, Wants, and a Secret - leaving room for trhe DM to expand on these Each encounter has a page dedicated to it and gives enough that you can shape the adventure to your tables need and your style. A new unique monster to challenge your players. The addition of Dramatic Question in each encounter and aftermath of the adventure. Makes for easy running and finishing the adventure.

Cons: Looking for a con I would go with the background for printing. If you wanted to print a copy of this to take with you to the table, it would be difficult. It would be nice if a printer friendly version was included.

comments: This adventure module is bordering on what I consider the OSR, not all situations can be resolved with combat and should be discouraged. Smart play is what will get you the most rewards. The rewards from the adventure are not just monetary and would make for a springboard into future adventures. The inclusion of what happens should you succeed or fail makes this a living adventure and will encourage future play. I look forward to future products and adventures from the Arcane Library and encourage anyone who wants something different to take a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
A wise and much-appreciated recommendation! I updated the adventure's .zip file to contain a print-friendly version. Thanks for the idea! :) -Kelsey
Valley of the Gilded Tower (5E)
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2019 08:46:42

What a great little one night adventure this is! A great followup to "Masque of the Worms"!

The adventure is well though out and can be played right after Masque of the Worms, as a series or really by itself. I feel my PCs had a bit more of an attachment by by playing Masque of the Worms first.

In my group, I ran ran Massque as their second adventure and then ran a few other sessions. Almost two weeks, in game time, had passed since the Masque session, and I ran this little gem. My PCs were hired for for a job on an nearby island, but had to wait a few days for their newemployer to get ready and for the boat to arrive. I slipped in this adventure in as a 'while you wait' adventure.

Baron Rennet had been putting up with his haunting for 2 weeks by this time and was paranoid and losing it mentally. The PCs had helped him before with finding his wife (in Masque of the Worms), so he call on them again to take her remains to her family buriel ground. The PCs of course said "Sure, we have a few days before we leave town anyway.."

The Module is well laid out and we played it in a 4 hour session. It can be done quicker than this, but my group roleplays a lot. You can pretty much play it as written. It is in the right order, has great descriptions and you just fluff a little with your own world setting to complete the description. This can be run in any fantasy setting, but be sure there is a place for an over grown wooded valley, where the bulk of this adventure takes place. You do need to describe the forest/brushy, unkept area with lots of wierd looking weeds/flowers, to your players very well as they get closer to the tower. Assuming they are alive at the end of the adventure, you can explain the difference thay see, for full impact of the adventure.

The adventure is well paced, has maps that you can print out, a great story and good ending. I highly recommend this adventure as a nice stand alone, plug & play adventure, or a follow up to 'Masque of the Worms'. GMs, you dont need a lot of prep at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Lastwatch Keep (5E)
by Dason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 00:09:57

The Arcane Library does it again! A delightful blend of classic D&D feel with game-changing concept and design! I love the Libarary's collaboration with map-maker Beware the Wizard on this adventure. The map is colorful, evocative, beautifully rendered, and really enhances the whole table look and play experience of SoLK.

As always the adventure includes the Library's signature pre-filled combat cards, which is great. This stark, dark adventure gives you the classic goblins and caves, but it also rewards you with dangerous, brooding drow, terrible, hungry beasts, and a few quirky characters and unexpected events that your players won't soon forget.

The Arcane Library is transparent with their production, which is actually awesome. The PDF includes digital and online resources for the adventure as well as a cool acknowledgements and credits section that can be mined for further D&D fun.

Even if Kelsey Dionne's stories weren't super duper hella fantastic her published adventures would still sell on sheer quality of design. Thankfully for us her stories ARE super duper hella fantastic, so go buy ya one and be inspired!

11/10, would recommend. A quick, hold-your-breath adventure. Don't be fooled—this little dungeon is FULL of peril!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Lastwatch Keep (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Combat Cards: Campaign Bundle Core Set (5E)
by Dason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 11:32:54

The Arcane Library's Combat Cards are ESSENTIAL GM's tools. Having every stat block—monsters, items, spells, NPCs, player characters, your own IRL stats, everything—printed on easy-to-use cards makes running the game a breeze. Most of the cards are blank so you can fill in your own stats, but the bundle does include pre-filled monsters cards which makes this already awesome package even more awesomer. (The Arcane Library includes pre-filled cards with most of her adventures—go get ya some!) Kelsey's art design is simple yet authentic to the feel of D&D. The cards look great printed in black and white on standard printer paper, but you can easily kick it up a notch and print them in full color on high quality card stock. Absolutely beautiful.

These cards will help you execute any strenuously planned encounter with precision and they give you advantage on your roll to adapt to all of your players' crazy antics. Gone are the days of stacking all of your rule books and flipping pages between turns. Now you can have every necessary stat block ready for quick reference. I even keep a stack of random creatures on hand for those roll-for-encounter scenarios or unexpected situations.

But I think my favorite feature is the item cards. Having the descriptions and effects of the items written on a handoutable card makes the characters' inventories feel tangible and real—plus, it helps them remember how many healing potions they have!

11/10 stars, would highly recommend. Not only is the Combat Cards: Campaign Bundle one heck of a deal for your coinpurse, it is truly a game changer for your table. An indispensable tabletop tool. The cards keep track of the numbers and stats so YOU can play the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Combat Cards: Campaign Bundle Core Set (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Lastwatch Keep (5E)
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 07:37:45

A very good one-shot! And as others have said, this could be the start of a campaign. Snarg and Iggle will be a hoot to play as NPCs in the adventure. I may try to run this Adventure at our local Con in July as it will be fun, fast paced and leave it open ended for more Drow adventures.... I think the players will leave the table with a "That was fun... I want to play the next adventure too.." feeling.

My only gripe is a minor editing one that is probably just me, but the author designed the lay out for just a single sided print out, if you print it out. All the page numbers, the fading of the pages and the bar, all happen on the right side. If you duplex print, like I do, it looks wierd.

I hope there is a follow up adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Lastwatch Keep (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Lastwatch Keep (5E)
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 17:40:21

This is an excellent adventure and can lead to a full scale campaign if played correctly. Something that would take a single night of four hours could span into weeks or even months of adventures in the Underdark and bring fun stories for people to share with friends. The cards and maps that come with this are amazing and I'm glad there are multiple versions of the maps for vitrual table top usage. As someone who has well over 4000 hours logged on Roll20 as both player and DM, this is an absolute must for me!

I especially like the custom enemy that was created for this in the Drow Commando. It's a new creature I can use in other places as well!

I will point out one thing I saw on page 4 there is a typo. When talking of the avalanche, I believe you meant to say they take half damage on a success rather than half damage on failure.

Overall, I do give this adventure 5/5 and I plan on using this for an aspect of my current campaign I have going.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much, Chris! I corrected that typo! :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates