DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Magical Industrial Revolution
by Derek M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2020 13:45:49

A great tool for any of your city building needs. Is packed full of great magical technological innovations, and full of great tables that can be used to expand upon any city setting. The writers prose are easily understood and full of entertaining and humorous elements. A must have book for any DM and a great read regardless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Industrial Revolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magical Murder Mansion
by Adrian M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 09:47:48

This is a great fun-house dungeon! Skerples always does highly usable material, and this is no exception. I ran this for a group of 3 using Knave, for 3 sessions. The group dissolved, but we had a good time while it lasted. There is a definite cartoon/discworld vibe to the whole module, a few hidden references, and good layout and organization. My only criticism is a handful of too-wacky rooms, which need careful planning and organization from the referee to not break the sense of disbelief from players.

For the listed price, this is an absolute steal. Also, very easy to print at home. The whole thing is black&white, without a lot of art or images.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Murder Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magical Industrial Revolution
by Cristian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2020 09:10:08

Absolutely adore this unique setting book. It's exactly what I've been thinking about exploring in one of my campaigns, and this is a treasure trove of ideas. It's also very usable, with great layout and concise writing. The system for advancing the development of the "apocalypse threats" is also great



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Industrial Revolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kidnap the Archpriest
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2020 17:25:49

An excellent adventure that is both fun and unique. The "heist" concept is brilliantly executed, divided into clear phases of planning/research, execution, and escape. The adventure offers multiple approaches in each respect, providing the players with many options and forcing them into none. Its descriptions are both concise and evocative. The formatting and layout are also designed with thoughtful consideration to ease-of-use.

Some things to keep in mind before you purchase:

  • This adventure involves a lot of city exploration, interaction with NPCs, and information management. I personally found this adventure very challenging to run as a referee - not because of the adventure's failings, but because it feels innately more complex than other adventures. It has a lot of moving parts, in ways that others do not.
  • This adventure is written for a very low-magic setting. The priests in this game are not spellcasters. If you plan on playing in a rules system where the religious institution(s) is/are magical, you will need to modify this adventure to fit.

Overall, it is definitely worth the $5 price tag to download on PDF. Highly recommended. I have written a more detailed review here if you are interested.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Ryan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 19:37:21

Another insturction this module gives, is that modules need to bring something unique that can be used in other games. The main attractions at the end demonstrate how tropes can be subverted and used to make a familiar setting seem fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by John E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 09:58:56

A cool adventure. Print was well done and no issues. Clear and well made. Can't complain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Edward R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2020 20:12:48

I needed a starting adventure after a long hiatus from gaming and I was about to start a new group of players who had never played an RPG. This module fits that bill. So. if you need a "teaching" dungeon, this one does the job.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Randoulph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 21:54:35

I'm currently running TotSK using a mashup of OSE/LotFP/LFG and my own hacks and ideas (planning on putting my system out there someday... But thats another post entirely). The reason I picked up TotSK was to have a ready to go dungeon for players new to OSR, so I could focus more on my ideas on mechanics and filling out the setting outside of the dungeon. This module is awesome! I read through it once or twice (only took a few hours) and now only brush up maybe 30 minutes before each session so I know what the players are likely to encounter. Simple and easy to use at the table, this module allows me to focus more on the fiction and what I am trying to achieve mechanics wise. The lessons taught in the adventure are easily learned for both players and GMs as well. So far, we have only had a few character deaths, but none of them felt cheated. I would recommend this adventure to anyone wanting give the OSR a try, or anyone just needing a simple, easy to use adventure to get started.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2020 10:37:01

I am running this as an intro for ttrpg/D&D for two of my sons (and a reresher for me - its been ages since i ran any dungeon-based roleplaying games and it works very well. This is not about the originality of the scenario but the way it is structured and set out. It is supremely easy to use at the table



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epochrypha - A Book of Speculative Ages
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 04:44:28

This is not only a great d100 generator for wierd fantasy/sci fi alternate worlds or long forgotten histories to add some fun to RPGs: its also just good fiction. I adored the few running gags through some of the eras and the range of impossible worlds has me brimming with inspiration for my own writing and GMing. Fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epochrypha - A Book of Speculative Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Jesse K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2019 09:02:45

This bad boy fills a niche. Taking the step from a level 0 human to a level 1 adventurer is a much bigger leap for a new PC. This dungeon is a useful and deadly teaching tool that I'm now using as a kind of intro dungeon experience before running any of the big, deadly dungeons of yon and yore! The lessons that each room teaches is very clear and the map is well laid out and easy to run! Well done and I look forward to more! I ordered the print version too. Remarkably cheap!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Jordan V. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 22:36:32

Fantastic dungeon for introducing new players to your table. I've had success using it to introduce a few new groups, even modifying it to work with a homebrew system once. And you can't argue with the value of this product with a free pdf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Ryan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2018 23:05:34

I downloaded (and had initially intended to buy in print) this adventure based on a smattering of online acclaim that it was the adventure to use to teach players new to the OSR style of gaming. It is system neutral and can easily be ported to the old edition or retro clone of your choice. This portability is the only good thing I can say about Tomb of the Serpent Kings. (Besides it being free to download.)

For all the set dressing involving sorcerer serpents and such, this is a pretty boring dungeon. It's got all the complexity of the sample adventures you can find in the old red Basic player's manual. The author intends to teach "lessons" about OSR-style play, but mostly these lessons are taught by smacking the players in the face with it and shrugging its shoulders, because OSR.

While there are some nonstandard original monsters at the end of the dungeon, I found it to be too little, too late. In fact, the group I tried running it for (Pathfinder players interesting in trying old school rules/playstyle) were ready to quit not even halfway through.

There are better adventures to use if you're planning to teach some new players the ropes. This seems couched firmly in the idea that OSR play is hardcore and the players have to learn the hard way. The tone comes off as condescending and spiteful. ('Dungeons contain undead, and undead are dangerous!') Hard pass on running this for players new to OSR style stuff in the future.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Samuel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2018 19:06:28

I like this dungeon a lot. It was the first OSR thing I ran, and the first RPG experience for a dozen or two people who played with me over several runs. It has been very successful in putting my players into the OSR mindset; the first level (about 7 rooms) sets expectations for the rest of the dungeon perfectly, making players treat everything they find as both potential threat and potential treasure.

The first level and a half is somewhat linear, but the dungeon opens up pretty quickly after that. Some of the things in the dungeon are brutally dangerous, but that won't come out unless your players are constantly aggressive, which is good fun either way.

If nothing else: the PDF is free. Just grab it. The worst case scenario is that you delete it and forget about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 09:16:59

Don't listen to the hype, this isn't worth your time. It's a railroaded dungeon with high-lethality traps that have no warnings and "lessons" which either don't come up or aren't clearly written. Skerples has been asked about why the encounters fail to communicate lessons and dodged by saying that not ever lesson in his training-wheel railroad dungeon needs to be learned. But if there every lesson doesn't need to be learned why are you playing/running a teaching dungeon instead of a regular dungeon? What Tomb of The Serpent Kings does teach is to play in that particular flavor of False OSR full of "gotcha!" death traps and "deep" but pointless fluff.

Could it be fixed? Yes, but so could N1 and Castle Spulzeer. By the time you're done "fixing" TOTSK you might as well have written a new module



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates