DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2019 09:42:20

This is a good read for someone not reading Angry GM's blogs. It goes over a lot of the basic ideas in his blogs. A good introduction to his blogs. Ok, you see where I am going with this? His blogs are really great! I was hoping this book would have more info for his blog readers, but not so. I hope he publishes a book with more advanced concepts for his regular readers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Brad S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2019 09:21:48

Scott does a fantastic job walking both newcomers and experienced GMs through the steps of how to run games in a way that keeps them fun and engaging for all parties at the table. His delivery style is punchy, witty, and full of great examples. This is a great book to have in your aresenal if you run games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Brendan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 23:52:15

Game Angry was exactly what I needed. An amusing, step by step guide to becoming a Game Master. It starts with the baiss, introducing things easily, and then soldily builds on that foundation to more advanced skills. Highly rrecommend to anyone looking to start running games or up their games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 21:37:09

Scott Rehm aka The Angry GM has some of the best GM advice you can find on the many and varied internets. And now he's gathered the best of that advice into a neat, concise book on how to RPG. A lot of this book is based on material from his site, so technically you could get it all for free if you poked around enough. But the book form is a well compiled, revised, and edited narrative designed to flow cleanly and clearly from "I don't even know what an RPG is" to "how to run a great campaign".

Some people get turned off by the acerbic writing style he uses on his site, which is a parody of the fabled extreme-adversarial just-kill-all-the-players GM of meme legend. First, those people are wrong and cutting themselves off from great GM advice. Second, the style is toned down a lot for the book and played much more for laughs. So even if you don't care for his site, there is still a lot for you to like about his book.

And there will be something for you to like. If you're new to tabletop roleplaying, I can't recommend a better resource to get you started. To be fair, I haven't actually read any other books on getting started, but this book really is very well built in how it introduces each concept and builds on itself. It also helps new GMs by cutting through fluff and focusing specifically on techniques that will keep your games flowing well, even when things go off the rails. And even if you are a fairly experienced GM like myself, there are probably some new things here you can learn. Scott has a very cerebral and technical approach to gaming and his advice will make you rethink your own approach to your games.

In the interest of full disclosure, I was a Kickstarter backer for this book, and I absolutely feel that I got more than my money's worth for making this book happen. I gave a copy to my nephew, and now he's excited to be setting up his own game for his school friends. I'm not sure there's a better testimonial than that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 21:37:03

The author has been able to render the rules of RPG's down to the essentials in a way that I would have been unable to do myself. Consequently the games I run are now much better for this distilled advice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Spencer B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 12:35:15

This book offers excellent advice distilled into an engaging and entertaining format which will be useful to GMs of any experience level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Rye N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 08:16:44

This book takes the very intimidating and complicated job of being a GM and breaks it down into simple, easily digestable advice. It's probably the best resource for new GMs I've seen, and even for experienced GMs it's extraordinarily useful to help you make better informated decisions when running your game. I would highly recommend this book, and the rest of the advice on the Angry GM's website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 02:50:46

Dense with good, gameable material. Solid theory and implementation. The Angry GM's blog is a treasure trove of RPG writing, and this book is all that distilled. Cannot recommend highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 20:23:33

This book take all the great advise on The Angry GM webiste and condences it into a nice and easy format. It is great start for anyone looking to learn a pen and paper RPG as players or the Game Master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Chad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 18:57:01

Great book for new AND experienced game masters!

Also has a great website full of useful advice!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 17:24:49

Great and fun little book.

The author keeps it light-hearted, and stays on topic. There isn't a lot of "ground breaking" information in there, but if you're new to the hobby, or just want to start some self-reflection on GM'ing, this book is a good place to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 16:04:27

The book is great -- well-written, insightful, and witty. Also angry (quite angry to be honest), but in a refreshing, "you did, in fact, need this swift kick in the arse" way.

Also, A+ customer service -- had a minor issue and received both immediate response and a swiftly handled resolution.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Francois M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 10:20:21

Vrey good book covering all aspects of GMing. Easy to read, lots of information and practical advice. Although there are some mentions of the d20 system, I find the advice and approach to not be specific to any game system and is a must read for any GM who wants to run less worse games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 08:34:32

An extremely valuable resoure full of useful tips and instruction for both new and experienced Game Masters. Angry will almost certainly help you run less worse games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Tony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 08:17:04

The best way to level up how you run your games, whether you are just starting or you're an experienced hand. Easy to read with a relaxed style and sarcastic tone that's both entertaining and informative. Structured chapters offer the ability to dip in and directly address any shortcomings you've noticed in your games. Examples are D&D- and Pathfinder-centric but apply to all RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates