DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 04:53:52

Great information presented in an easy to understand format. Highly recommend for beginning or experienced GMs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Javier G. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 02:42:59

So far the best book I've seen on how to learn what a TTRPG is, how to play and, the part I liked the most, how to run games as a Game Master. A book lke this was urgently needed.

You can tell that the author is an industrious, logical and thoughtfull persons. The way he unfolds every premise shows that he just hasn't given a lot of thought to his arguments, but that he can back them with years of experience. He explain everything in a rational way, all conducted to know where most people make mistakes and how to optimise things to make your games more immersive, rewarding and fun. Besides, his style is fun and engaging.

I'm really happy with this purchase and I'm really enjoying my second read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Boris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 01:28:36

This is THE definitive DM-ing guide book.

If you are a new DM, or ever slightly experienced - hell, even if you already have a few solid years behind your back - you will not go wrong by getting this amazing book. It contains ALL the advice that the RPG publishers never provided you with, and it also happens to be the best advice on the Internet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 01:07:17

This book is filled with helpful advice, particularly to those who are new to tabletop RPGs. I've purchased several copies and sent them to friends and families who are trying out GMing for the first time. I can't say that about very many products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 22:33:16

An absolutely fantastic book for any new GM. The advice takes you from zero knowledge, to running your first game in a-read-in-an-afternoon format. It even has advice for experienced GM that want a new perspective on running games. Recommended for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Raymond K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 22:23:07

When I first started hosting RPGs a few years ago, I quickly discovered that I was having lots of little problems. Googling those problems led me to The Angry GM's website. Over the course of a year and reading pretty much all his articals there, I became a much better and more confident GM.

Now, you can get this book and get all the best pieces of advice right away. And you can support somebody who has been giving that advice away for free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 20:02:10

I love the author's humor and his advice has become invaluable at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 19:17:13

Excellent read! Has great tips for both newbies and more experienced DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by DAVID V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 19:07:46

Mr. Angry does something nobody else seems to have realized they can do (or at least nobody who works for a major rpg publishing company). He explains how to play and run a role-playing game. If you're browsing reviews on a site called DriveThruRPG dot com, you probably aren't facing the quandary "rpgs look so cool, but I have no idea how to get started." But someone you know might be. Or perhaps the problem is "Every group needs a GM, but I have no idea how to get started as one." This book solves those questions on both a gameplay level and on a "what rpg books do I buy?" level, preparing new players to play and even RUN games. And if that weren't enough, the second half of the book is rich with higher-level advice on running, writing, building, and generally making games that are less worse than they might otherwise be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Nina J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 18:36:49

This is a great read! Scott really breaks down running an RPG to its bare essence, and builds it up again layer by layer. I never really understood GMing until I started reading his blog, and this book is a frankly amazing distillation of his work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 18:35:29

The book (and his website) is an excellent resource for DMs in a satarically funny way. Great reading with great ideas. I bought the book as part of the author's Kickstarter and not only is the book excellent, Angry really cares about it's quality and making sure all his backers were happy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Bleau M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 17:41:54

A guide to good dming- strips down the crunch from Angrey's articles into a nice clean format.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Charles B O. I. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 16:21:15

I spent almost 3 months reading every article the Angry GM ever published on his blog on my tiny phone screen. Now he's distilled that advice into a book I can read in a day or two and hold it in my hand. This book is the best distillation of what it truly takes to be a great GM. Read it twice and pass it on. I bought 4 copies to give this golden knowledge on to other budding GMs so they can run better games for me when I'm a player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 15:18:44

Scott Rehm (aka The Angry GM) taught me how to GM - first through the myriad of articles on his website, and again (in more organized and polished manner) in this book. His grasp of what makes RPGs work is unparalleled, and he consistently articulates a specific and consistent vision of how to run a game. He is probably the only GM-ing resource whose advice I don't think I've ever said "well that doesn't really make sense." With chapters on what an RPG even is, action adjudication, playing NPCs, types of players (and how to engage them), and even story structure, this book is a fantastic intro to tabletop RPGs.

My only criticism would be that Rehm uses a lot of video game analogies when he's explaining what RPGs are and how to run them. While this is fine for me (as someone who plays a good amount of video games), it doesn't work as well for folks who may be older or just not into video games. I had hoped to be able to gift this book to some friends and acquaintances I thought would enjoy RPGs, but those who don't play video games would probably find it hard to follow a good amount of the book.

That said, the above is a fairly minor quibble. This is a fantastic intro to RPGs and to GMing, and every GM who runs "traditional" RPGs (vs "narrative" RPGs like PbtA and FATE) should give it a read. Even those who only run narrative RPGs could probably get a lot of good mileage out of the chapters on story structure etc, just as GMs who run "traditional" RPGs can learn from the more narrative

Bottom line - if you want to know how to GM, read this book.

PS - for anyone who finds the "Angry" part of the persona off-putting, it's considerably toned down in this book compared to the website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Torsten E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 14:00:16

I have been following Angry's website for years and believe that my GMing has profited greatly from following his advice, which he draws from decades of experience spent game mastering. He has a very methodical approach and manages to explain not only what he believes to be the right way to run a game, but also the concepts behind it and points out why he believes his approaches to be the right one. One may not agree with all points (and it is my right to run my game any wrong way I want!, as he might say), but I have learnt a lot following his advice and greatly respect his tireless efforts! His style took some getting used to at first, but nowadays I wouldn't have it any other way, so give it a shot - greatly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates