DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Cory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 10:01:27

An enjoyable read that effectively communicates the core principles of GMing a game in a fun and succinct manner. Great job Angry!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Antonio M. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 10:00:59

Antibullshit advice from an experienced GM. Sharp and to the point. Step by step. Illustrations like those of a toddler, true, but who cares...The juicy bits are in the text itself. Very glad to have it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Allie T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:55:00

Hilariously written, this GMing advice book is a great way to start for when you know nothing about role playing games, what they are, or how to start playing them. Anyone who knows someone who wants to get into any role-playing game should read this book first! Nothing else like it on the market right now, Scott takes a tongue-in-cheek humorous approach to what you need to know and what things will help you along your way to be the best adventurer or GM that you can be!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:51:06

Bought a 2nd copy for a fellow DM. Satisfied with the Real world advice on DM'ing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Scott I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:50:14

Easy light writing style with lots of substance behind it. Well worth it and a great tool for getting into or improving your DMing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:47:15

Basically... I don't think RPGs need to write a "how to GM" section anymore , it would just be a waste of paper. Really useful, practical advice on what actually matters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Carly R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:44:55

This book was a fantastic resource for DMing, as a long time player, a new DM, it was extremely helpful! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Brandon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:41:15

This book plus the website provide me with a lot of information on how to help reduce my prep time and help run a more fun game for my players and me. In addition I'd higly suggest the lazy dungeon master book too. They go so well together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Shad C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:40:51

BOUGHT 2 copies and have no regrets. Fun way to rcieve great advice. The first half was brilliant and useful. Now put it down and play. Come back later to learn more. WOW. I cannot wait to see ANGRIES adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:37:45

This book combined with Angry's website (http://theangrygm.com/) have helped me immeasurably with becoming a better GM and producing better content. For me, there is no other source of advice that has had nearly as much impact, and I only wish I had found it sooner!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Tyler G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:37:29

Well thought out and really good information. He's a little wordy but that's half the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:37:24

Bottom Line Up Front - The Angry GM was honest when he pitched this book: it's not necessarilly for his biggest fans, but it does seem like an excellent resource for the new Game Master (GM).

I've followed the Angry GM for several years so I actually found myself very slightly dissapointed when I got done with his book. This is a portable, condensed, collected version of many of the foundational GMing principles the Angry GM has discussed on his website. That description matches exactly what the Angry GM advertised on his Kickstarter. If you are familiar with the Angry GM and have read his most popular articles, you've read this book. If you are not familiar with the Angry GM, it contains some of the best GMing advice you will ever read told from the perspective of a cartoon character version of a GM.

Angry outlines how RPG works and how to get started in what can be a very complicated hobby, before moving on to how to get started as a GM with basic skills. He covers keeping your combats fast and fun, player agency, finding fun for your players, game structure, resolving player actions, narrative conflict, managing NPCs, managing your group and your game, and a host of other GMing skills.

Minor Nitpicks/Warnings: I've had some people say they can't read the Angry GM's material because his "tone" or "voice" is distracting. That "voice" has been toned down, but is still present here. The Angry GM used the artist Jon Mosley, who has done the majority of illustrations for his website. The art adds charm, but it also sometimes feels a little crude. I've liked Jon Mosley's art for the website, but not necessarily for the book (sorry Jon Mosley).

Conclusion: I want to give this book a 4.5/5. It's quality, but I already knew all this stuff. I'm rounding up to 5 for the target audience. If you're already a fan of the Angry GM, I actually would not recommend picking up this book (outside of supporting the Angry GM/Scott Rehm). I bought a copy for myself and my sister and I'll probably try to find someone to give my copy. I don't need it. If you're an experienced GM who hasn't read any of Angry's stuff, you should buy this book for a few new tips and then go check out his website. If you're trying to figure out how to get into RPGs and/or learn how to GM, this book is better than any other source of GMing advice I've ever read on the internet, and when you're done with the book and running awesome games, Angry has even more content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Jeffrey, thanks for the honest and in-depth review and explanation. I'm sorry there wasn't as much good information for you in there, but I hope you'll continue to follow my work.
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Ck K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:35:51

This'll be the book I recommend to anyone wanting to get into D&D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:34:40

The AngryGM seems to have an unnatural ability to go to the core of almost any RPG-related issue, and offer insightful and clever advice on how to tackle most issue that needs tackling. I've been following him for a few years now, and this book compile most of this advice into one easy to read compendium.

I highly recommend it, especially for new GMs that want to get started but wonder how.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
by Sidsel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2019 09:33:06

Awesome website, awesome advice, awesome book. Wish I'd had it 20 years ago when I started GM'ing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates