DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Beginners Bundle for T&T
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2021 12:01:52

Review of Journey to Buffalo Island. (Mild spoilers.)

Classic escape the island scenario. Makes the most of its small number of paragraphs: a number of variations possible, definite replay value. A choice of possible escape routes; some exploration is required to gather items needed to use them. Sometimes tongue in cheek; enjoyable. Links work. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beginners Bundle for T&T
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tunnels & Trolls 1st Edition reprint
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 03:05:16

This is a faithful reprint of the original edition of T&T, the one that broke out in 1975.

To be blunt, I prefer 5th and 5.5 to this edition. I got it to see how different it was from 5th, and it's not terribly so, but it's also got some very singificant differences. Rogues are slightly different. All saves are on Luck. The weapon list is shorter, and the weapon dice are slightly lower.

There's a good reason the game has lasted, and while this has most of that, it's not the 5th ed I love.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls 1st Edition reprint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls 2015 edition
by Ambrose C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2021 11:39:51

I like both formats as I can search on one and read or present with the pape copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls 2015 edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Ireland - T&T Campaign
by D. M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2021 16:13:54

Last night I finished reading Mythic Ireland by John Briquelet. It is a fantastic collection of material on the ancient Irish that can be used in any campaign. It is written with statistics for Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls. However, since most of it is text and not stat-blocks, it is easily converted to any gaming system.

It includes a thorough section on how to play ancient Irish professions (such as the druids, fili/ bards, witches, warriors, etc.), material on the Irish code of honor and how to use it in a RPG campaign, new magic (such as the Cloak of the Dagda, and the Riastradh, which allows a caster to expefrience Cú Chulainn's Hulk-like "warp spasm", etc.), an overview of Irish king and clan society, an list of commonly used items for purchase (ranging from the traditional backpack to a Bodhran/ drum and gold torc), the role of geasa/ taboos, Irish gods/ religion/ feasts, new creatures in Mythic Ireland (e.g. the fae of the Courts of Light/ Darkness, Cu Sidhe/ otherworld hounds, etc.), maps and descriptions of ancient Ireland, material for a Gamemaster-led adventure for 4-6 player characters (Finneach’s Black Bull), and more. And I haven't even mentioned the beautiful color artwork, not least of which is the cover.

In the spirit of constructive criticism, the book could be made even better if it were reorganized somewhat. Some of the sections seem spread throughout the book (e.g. "background" material could be clustered in one section and "gameplay" material in another, or at least highlight these as different in the book). Also, it would have been great to have a PDF version that did not have the page coloring as this requires a lot of printer ink. And finally, when will a hardcopy/ softcopy be available?!? :) I'd love to have this on my shelf. These are minor comments and do affect my 5/5 rating.

It is a fantastic collection of material that will provide countless hours of unique RPG gameplay. Well worth the price and your time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Ireland - T&T Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tunnels & Trolls 1st Edition reprint
by Edmund M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 14:40:04

It's everything I remember from the late 1970s & early 1980s. Great RPG, simple, engaging, doesn't take itself too seriously.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls 1st Edition reprint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beginners Bundle for T&T
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2021 07:09:52

Tunnels & Troll has been around so long that potential players may be scared away by the learning curve, even if that curve does not exists. Flying Buffalo's last main rule book, Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls, is decepively simple. While easily a three hundred page book the rules take about 30 pages and the rest is fluff and options. 30 pages of rules is a brevity in RPGs, and when you really focus down on the core concepts this is really about ten pages. So they have the simple problem of having a concise and comprehensive system hiding in a high page count, something daunting for new players.

It seems the Beginners Bundle for T&T is their answer. And you get a lot for a $6 PDF: a primer version of the rules, solo module, GM (group) module, enough charts to run the game, prerolled characters and character sheets (All in full color). That is a good haul for six bucks.

I tend to be a GM and when I run games I like to give the players a handout that describes the rules of the system I'm using. That was one of the reason I was very intrested in this bundle. In this instance I will serve my players well.

But true newbies should know that the most popular versions of T&T are 5th Edition and Deluxe, and this bundle contains portions of both. While these editions are more closly relaed than editions of D&D there may be a little confusion for the unaware of those slight differences (2 more Attributes, a Talent(skill) system, more attack dice for Warriros every level, etc.) they may be confused. It would probably have been wiser to scale the 5th ed material up to Deluxe or pair the Deluxe material down to 5th, but I'm sure they have their reasons. Both editions are infinately playable and much easier to teach, play and master than that other RPG.

Give the second ever RPG a chance, its more than worth it and an underplayed gem in either edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beginners Bundle for T&T
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review Joshua. You make a great point about some of the material being for both 5th and dT&T. So over the next few days we will update the 5th edition material in this book to the Mini-Rule/dT&T standards to eliminate that confusion. Thanks again for the review - Sounds like you now exactly HOW to use this new T&T book. Have fun using the extra map to create your own expansion of the gm adventure!
Elves of Lejentia Mythos Pack
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2021 01:56:45

Looking for a complete Elven world? Found it.

This campaign world setting gives a complete overview of the elven culture, standing, history and, well, world. It is a nostalgic look at a setting for use with any rpg and contains detailed NPCs, adventure hooks and details enough to keep you busy for a long time.

four out of five stars from me purely that Elves are not really my thing but I enjoyed the read and the non tolkien setting. These elves are different with a world and culture all of their own. Will it also be yours?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elves of Lejentia Mythos Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alice in Weirdworld T&T solo w/mini rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2021 11:31:45

This adventure captures the madness and wonder of Alice in Wonderland beautifully. The puzzles are a joy, and you will need to take notes. In addition, as with the best solos, there are multiple endings, and you can't see and do everything in one run-through. This solo is great for re-play, and tremendous fun multiple times through.

For me, what pushed this from four stars (great) to five (outstanding!) was Steve Compton's artwork. Mr. Compton's pen-and-ink style exactly complements John Tenniel's original illustrations in Alice. There were a few cases where I had to look for the artist's signature to make sure it wasn't a hitherto-undiscovered John Tenniel illustration!

So, fun storyline, cool adventures, interesting puzzles, entertaining jokes, and good replay value, all complemented by outstanding art. If you like solos - or even if you don't - Alice in Weirdworld is a gem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alice in Weirdworld T&T solo w/mini rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
So glad you have enjoyed the Alice solo. It was a bit of an experiment as its the first time we ever did a solo based on an existing written work. We ran out of the printed copies and are going back to press with it. The vast majority of the art in te book are the John Tenniel illustrations from the Alice books and I did find a couple of others by him from other sources as well. There are cases when I created a new illustration by either altering one of the Tenniel illos to better fit the paragraph or creating a new illustration by using part of other old engravings or just outright drawing something from scratch. Its a unique approach, but seems to work here very well. Thanks again for giving it a try and for the Review! Steve Crompton (using Rick's Log in)
Mythic Ireland - T&T Campaign
by Joel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2021 12:55:21

Gorgeous. That was my first impression of Mythic Ireland as I read through the pages. The entire supplement is colourized to look like parchment, and appropriate and evocative images of the ancient Irish (primarily paintings) are found every few pages. No black-and-white illustrations here! Even the hex maps of the various lands are in hues of eye-pleasing green, appropo for the Emerald Isle.

This brings me to my only issue with the supplement. If you like to print pdfs, you should think twice before doing so with Mythic Ireland. And there’s no print-friendly version or POD available at the time of the review.

But that’s a minor consideration. For 90 pages, Mythic Ireland is chockful of material. Author John Briquelet made sure the setting – and playing in it – feels distinctively different from typical Tolkien-esque fantasy. Nor are these Hollywood Celts with an Irish accent. In the section appropriately titled, "Who Are the Gaels?", players get a thorough crash-course in the ancient Irish mindset from why PCs need to stay in great shape, to consequences in indiscriminately kill rivals and keeping their heads.

All that fluff is backed by crunch to stay in character. Clu (pronounced CLOO) is a new stat and represents the PC's reputation and honor. It's not a static number, falling and rising on how much the PC demonstrates the virtues of Gaelic character (or not). PCs with high Clu will find it easier to secure an audience with their chieftain (or even the gods!) while those with low scores can find themselves stripped of their land.

Other rules cover how core concepts from Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls fit in Mythic Ireland. Rogues, for example, have to choose which magic focus they’ll be using (Druidic, Filid or Bard, Witchcraft, and–if approved–Fae magic). New rules, such as opposed Saving Rolls, Spirit Combat, setting-appropriate spells and creatures, are also provided. Finally, a beginning adventure, "Finneach's Black Bull", gives a distinctly different flavor from traditional hack-and-slash, providing opportunities from combat to strict roleplaying.

Overall opinion? Mythic Ireland is a beautiful and solid supplement to T&T for those looking to role-play in an Irish-based fantasy setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Ireland - T&T Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Ireland - T&T Campaign
by Seadna D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2021 11:40:56

To sum up the review in advance I would say that I think this is probably the best book to buy currently available if you want to run a campaign set in Ireland's mythic past or even a straight historical game set in the Medieval period. Even if you are not using Tunnels and Trolls I would strongly recommend giving this book a look because of the very well presented setting information. In addition there are excellent mechanical choices that basically make this for Mythic/Medieval Ireland what Pendragon is for the Arthur Cycle, i.e. "the game" that precisely conveys the setting's feel.

For background I'm Irish and speak Irish Gaelic.

"Mythic Ireland" to me conveys the setting common to the Medieval sources in which Irish myth is presented. This is the ancient Celtic past as imagined by Ireland's Medieval society. These myths have two features, one well known, the other less well known:

  1. The presence of mythic beings who are presented as some ambiguous combination of gods, fae or simply magically potent men and women
  2. An idealised political structure. That is the four provincial kingdoms ruled over by a high king. As opposed to the reality of hundreds of individually competing kingdoms with occasional loose ties of tribute.
  3. That conventional everyday life in these myths was imagined to be identical to that of Medieval Ireland. This is similar to how Arthur, despite his historical setting being Late Roman Britain, is imagined in a chivalric fuedal society.

Many books concentrate on the first point, but it is quite difficult to get a good idea of everyday life in Medieval Ireland without reading 300+ page academic tomes. Briquelet has basically done this task for you in a way that conveys all the useful "table relevant" aspects of the society. He also gives a neat little guide to the idealised political structure taken straight from the myths.

This includes details on: Clothing, Food, Games, Sports, Housing, Legal Matters, Religion, Marriage, coinage, the structure of society and War.

This is done in thirty highly readable pages! The hierarchical structure of society in particular is very hard to get a clean simple explanation of, even in academic sources. This includes everybody's social rank and the typical make up of an average household.

Along with this is the introduction of the Clú attribute. Clú is a bit hard to translate. It roughly corresponds to the English "reputation", but not in the sense of modern "fame" but how frequently people tell stories of personally meeting you and seeing your accomplishments. It's also tied into the power of magic and curses in Irish myth and in the Medieval period was related to how the community treated you. Again this is a subtle concept that would normally difficult for a GM to get right. But Briquelet introduces the Clú attribute and some associated mechanics that just naturally bring about the right feel. Think of how Passions and Traits in Pendragon naturally guide the game toward the right Knightly feel.

The selection of monsters sticks quite closely to what the myths actually feature without getting into pseudo-Celtic monsters more inspired from modern novels. This includes the various witches (mechanically summarised as two seperate monster types) which I've rarely seen mentioned in RPG attempts at Ireland.

There's also a bunch of useful little details such as lists of names and a very accurate guide to pronunciation. The pronunciation I would characterise as being as close as you can get in English to how everyday Medieval Irish sounded.

So if you are in any way curious about Ireland's past, either mythic of historic, I strongly recommend getting this nice volume.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MSPE-Stormhaven: GM Adventure
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2021 13:05:00

Mercenaries, Spies, & Private Eyes rpg's supplement Stormhaven. Allard Technologies has its fingers into every science fiction & old school Call of Cthlhu rpg game that we've run since the Eighties. They've been the upstart corporation going back decades. There are some solid legs that Stormhaven has that lends itself to everything from straight up Call of Cthulhu Pulp to Eighties inspired action film material. As a campaign setting set piece the booklet packet is invaluable. And now doing a retro sci fi styled campaign Stormhaven once again is making its shadow felt. This is a slice of Eighties awesomeness done by Michael A. Stackpole with art and maps by Barbara Armata, Liz Danforth, Jennell Jaquays, and Steven S. Crompton. This is a classic & classic for a reason. Five stars & I've been using Stormhaven for decades now. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Want More OSR action?! Subscribe to swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MSPE-Stormhaven: GM Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Citybook I: Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
by Flask C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2021 09:22:15

I really quite like this, it's digestable, it's short and most off an a fun and intreasting read. I'm going to be reworking and incliding most of the locations featered in this pdf in my campaign.

All by all worthwile if your a Gm/Dm looking for old school style locationts in your campaign or oneshot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citybook I: Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elven Lords Deluxe Edition T&T solo
by T A B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2021 04:04:26

Have to say that I felt disappointed and more than a little misled upon discovering that this is not so much "a" solitaire adventure as it is a collection of mini-adventures.

The adventures themselves were mostly well-written and I enjoyed playing them - when I purchased Adventurers Compendium (AC), the collection of mini-solitaires (and GM adventures) originally published in Sorcerer's Apprentice. AC is also available here on DTRPG.

4 of the 6 adventures in this title are identical, or extremely similar (with some minor tweaks), to those published in AC.
The title adventure, 1 of 2 original (to me, at least) pieces, can only be reached through very specific, and limited, options from one or another of those 4. The final adventure, which can be reached directly, has some very confusing text within. What is "a L3SR on IQ against the base number of hits your armor takes"? There were a few passages that I had to simply ignore because I just couldn't understand the intent.

If you don't have Adventurer's Compendium and don't plan to get it, I would certainly recommend the adventures included here. As I said, they are mostly well-written and lots of fun!! However, I'd probably lean more to recommending AC since it has most of the same adventures in it, several others in addition, and a few GM adventures to boot.

More to the point though, be aware that 1) this is not one grand adventure, it is several smaller ones; and 2) if you do have and/or or have played most of the shorts in Adventurer's Compendium, the majority of the material in this title will not be new to you.

-TA



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Elven Lords Deluxe Edition T&T solo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I just want to add that over 50% of this solo has brand NEW material that was written especially for this book by Mike Stackpole and that the older adventures have been cleverly woven together in a very unique way. You enter a Library in Gull and different books in the Library can take you on different adventures. At the end of that adventure you reappear back in the Library (assuming you don't die). Also unlike the Adventurer's Compendium, everything in this book has been updated by Ken St Andre for Deluxe T&T. On top of that Liz Danforth did about 20 BRAND NEW illustrations to do with Elvenlords. So it really is an entirely new take with the original version of Elvenlords as it basis. To TA - I am sorry you were disappointed - we try hard to make cool things and not everything works for everybody. Cheers - Steve
Catacombs of the Bear Cult - GM Adventure
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 07:08:11

So here we have a reissue of the original adventure, only better.

Updated and modernised it has now a wealth of information to add into your campaign. The base adventure is the same great standard that we had from Bear Peters but now there is history, maps, color and reasoning given here so it is more correlated to a campaign setting than ever before.

The scenario is a great adventure. An invincible monster, a cult, political intrigue, escape and adventure with loads of promise for continuing further in a campaign or mini set of adventures.

In your hands you will hold not only the fantastic adventure but a piece of history, showing you how things worked and were thought of 40 years ago. The extra artwork is a delight to behold within showing further the love and work that has gone into this Tunnels and Trolls classic.

What could make this into a five star for me? The release of Level 2!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Catacombs of the Bear Cult - GM Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls 2015 edition
by W N V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2020 18:51:40

Great update for a classic RPG!

Relatively simple mechanics, easy to learn, all that's needed are a fistful of d6's and you're ready to go.

As of fall 2020 the softcover is out-of-print and the hardcovers are getting hard to find, a print-on-demand option is imperative to keep this available for gamers, lest it fade into obscurity along with so many other long out-of-print RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls 2015 edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 184 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates