DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Planner
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 16:33:02

I like this tiny booklet more than I expected to. It comes in two formats. The main one is 8 tiny pages printed on one sheet of paper in such a way that you can fold and cut it into a little pocket-sized booklet. Or you can just use it in your PDF reader as a regular document.

What is it? A simple series of interconnected tables for generating a Cepheus Engine or Traveller story hook by rolling 1D6 on each table. It's a neat idea, and the table entries cover a wide enough variety of possibilities that you can spark your creativity just by sitting down with a die and generating an adventure outline in a few minutes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Experiments
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 05:29:48

The adventure is about mining characters that signed up to work on a dangerous planet but there was a condition that they agreed to a medical procedure to give them the ability to breathe in the hostile atmosphere. The adventure even has a recruitment ad that you can give to the players. They wake up on the operating table to an alarm and the place is flooding. Everyone is gone. Dangerous creatures are loose on the levels below. They start in sub-level 4 and must make their way to the first floor. Maps are provided for these levels but if anyone wants to explore the upper floors, there is no map of the upper level floors which is disappointing.

I am disappointed with the adventure as the encounters are just random encounters that you can put in at anytime. I was hoping for the encounters to already be planned. Pretty much you have to make the experimental creatures come up from the level below. There is no explanation as to why the place is flooding either. What happened to cause everyone to evacuate? None of this is answered. Maybe a nearby damn broke or there is a freak storm? It could also be from an explosion in a sub-level below that caused water from a nearby lake to flood the lower levels of the building.

10 Premade Player Characters are provided. You can use them or have players create their own. The opposition is dangerous water breathing ex-humans that use to be people but now they have become insane monsters with thick chitinous skin. There are 2 other native fish type of alien monsters for you to use that were housed in tanks in the lower levels. You can make the area full of waste deep water. I wish there was more explanation about the flooding and how it progresses.

Normally I would give this adventure a 3 out of 5 stars. However, it’s an incredible value for $1.99 so I am giving it an additional star. Thus my rating is 4 out of 5. Keep in mind you will need to make up what to throw at the players. You can play the adventure in a single session and there is an opportunity of a future adventure to retaliate against the company if the players so desire.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Experiments
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Moon
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2020 09:39:20

I haven't had a chance to use this material in my game yet, but after reading "Moon" I'm very excited to. This is exactly the kind of RPG supplement I love. It's got lots of adventure hooks and details, but without tying things too much to any particular setting or location.

When I bought it, I was under the impression that it had locations and events for a variety of moons, but that's not the case. The supplement describes a bunch of adventure seeds to take place all on the same moon. Many of them are interconnected. I feel like I could base a whole mini-campaign on just the one location described here, and maybe I will.

I'm planning to use this in the "These Stars Are Ours!" setting, but it could be used in any Cepheus Engine game or, of course, Traveller.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Decopedia Volume 2
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 23:07:08

I listen to Felbrigg's excellent podcast, but usually can't take notes while I'm listening. However, I just love the content -- particularly the way the animals aren't just abstract creatures, but have been blended into a believable relationship with humans (with, e.g. opinions on cuteness, how they smell, quirks of behaviour). The same goes for all of the different categories here. As soon as I realized that these sets of ten correspond (episode by episode) to the content featured on the Behind the Claw podcast, this was an instant buy, and well worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decopedia Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobsons Colony
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 16:39:46

A fun little scenario. It's fun because it's different. It also has a little bit for everyone. Though it comes with pregen characters, it really isn't hard to plug in your own, It is really good as a starteradventurefor a group. It avoids the RPG trope of "You all meet in a bar"..well sort of. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hobsons Colony
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 11:17:45

Very basic but a good introduction to "Sub" games before you splash out on one of the boxed games on the market.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Target! Bearing 093 degrees!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jane's The Imperial Japanese Navy
by Emmanuel O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2017 12:23:16

Hi ! It's a very interesting book with a lot of pictures ! Note that you could read it with , for exemple , SumatraPDF a freeware !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jane's The Imperial Japanese Navy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Planner
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2017 16:27:26

This a great way to get things going. If you are referee or solo gamer, this will get things going in a fun way. Now all we need is a Azhanti High Lightning encounter generator to go with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobsons Colony
by Alexandre D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 14:35:45

Found it extremely lacking in hooks or ideas. Although it does describe the Colony and colonits it doesnt offer any hooks as to what might come next. It doesnt describe the world in any details or offer alternatives to how the game could evolve, not even in general broad strokes. The author simply stated, this is the monster and the players should find a way to kill it. Very dissappointed in the lack of structure and lack of pointers as to how the author suggests or imagines this adventure to play through.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hobsons Colony
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Alexandre, I'm sorry it didn't meet your expectations. The scenario fits into the one-shot series and I have a plan for how they are used, perhaps I need to include something more to explain that. The idea with the series is that I don't necessarily proscribe resolutions to problems that are presented to the players. As these are one-shot events there is not usually time to allow players to seek a particular path to solve a problem, and instead it's left to the players to come up with something cool that the referee can run with. I appreciate that is a particular play-style-thing. The aim in the series is create an environment and a problem to be resolved in a single session, and to give the referee enough background to make that environment come alive. Now having said all that, I'm going to keep your comments in mind going forwards. Thanks for your custom, and the feedback. Felbrigg
Game Planner
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 03:18:59

This is a nice little 8 page mini-book of idea charts for themes and scenarios for games using keywords, rolled off of a d6 chart and subcharts. Not a lot of detail, but the ideas are linked in ways that other random scenario generators... who what where why do not cover.

I have seen other space opera generators all over the net that do this with a d20, but none with this sort of mind map technique. so I like it, even for that way of thinking about a scenario.

I liked it more once I went to the page on internet in the included readme that shows how to cut on ashed lines, and fold the book. Took me all of a minute to get it together, and already using these suggested plots. A nice little idea generator, at a decent price for what you get.

It also allows for super layered plots, if you want to go that way.

It also clued me in to these little 8 page books, which I could use for other purposes.

In the readme doc, the last line should read: Sub Plot: Moved 42 (3) The Next Town 22 (3)- Invention, 36(5)- One million credits



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Planner
by Todd Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2016 09:56:26

As a solo gamer, Game Planner is an excellent resource for my Travelling needs. The charts can be used straight up in a pinch for a quick answer or chained together for more detailed info and plot twists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Station Three
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 17:14:02

From the product description this sounded like it would be a great horror adventure for Traveller, where the players are sent by a coporation to investigate one of their mining stations that they have lost contact with. When the players arrive, they discover that the crew of the station made contact with a hostile invisible aliens with some sort of mind control power. The problem with this is that there are no stats for the aliens or the NPC survivors that they encouter! This adventure is not immediately ready for play, which is why I am rating it with only 2 stars, which I think is being generous. Personally, I was disappointed with this product and would have preferred that the hostile threat to be something even more sinister such as a demonic force from another realm, Doom and Event Horizon comes to mind.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Station Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Greg, The stats for the survivors are there to the right of the characters name, along with the skills they possess. You\'re right about a lack of stats for the aliens, but as they\'re not tangible nor intelligent in the usual manner as expressed by a UPP it doesn\'t really make sense to provide one for them. With that in mind I hope you\'ll take another look over the scenario. Felbrigg
The Battle of Kaylen
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2016 05:48:57

At 8 pages, 7 are the content. The is a supplement for the Edge of Space RPG (an easy system to learn; even for beginners). It's a well thought out supplement, reminding me of Aliens & Starship Troopers theme (which is not a bad thing). It also has sample characters to use.

And considering it's free; you'd be daft not to pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Battle of Kaylen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Decopedia Volume 1
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2015 23:01:17

A collection of interesting ideas. Written mostly in reference to the 3rd Imperium setting but easily used for other Traveller setting or even other science fiction settings/rules. Plus a price of $2.99 for 50 pages of actual content a great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decopedia Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Decopedia Volume 1
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2015 12:47:18

This is a handy product for the Traveller referee. Nothing fancy, no art or charts, but the writing is clear and typo-free. The document is well organized and the items are described with plenty of interesting detail. The introduction mentions Mongoose Traveller specifically, but there would be no problem porting any of the entries in this booklet into your Classic or Mega Traveller game. As an early listener of the Behind the Claw podcast, I have enjoyed listening to the author share his creations. It is nice to now have a document covering many of the worlds, creatures, and interesting people of the Tircesoe subsector.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates