DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 12:10:25

My very first RPGPundit book purchase. Was not disappointed. Not a large title, but a complete game all the same. Made some characters and immediately was impressed with how easy it was for me to pick up the system. I do not have any previous OSR experience.

Would buy it again. Great value for the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Matt T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2021 20:11:40

I highly recommend this if you plan on doing a spelljammer-like campaign. Rules for flying craft, generating random floating islands and fun locations that are pulled from random genres. Guarenteed to find something useful.

My favourite part is the occupations for the Hipster Elves, they give off a Paranoid RPG feel with comical player backgrounds that would be fun to RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 21:27:26

Very flexible and adaptable to most Space Opera settings. This isn't a product that spells everything out for you in microdetail, but rather gives you the tools to customize it to any setting. Personally I plan to use it to run a Babylon 5 campaign, which - using OGL Mongoose Games' Babylon 5 RPG as source material - will give a smoother and faster game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2021 17:48:08

Gonzo Fantasy with detailed content and great fun!

'The World Of The Last Sun' is an old school gonzo-fantasy compiled from lots of material from RPGPundit's other work.

There's a whopping 275 pages of content here! Due to the material being built up slowly over a period of time, nothing here feels like filler. Every single one of those pages is packed with unique content and belongs in this book.

My prior experience with RPGPundit's work was with 5E, for which he consulted on and his Realistic 'Lion and Dragon' medieval RPG ruleset. I was glad to see that this is every bit as well written as Lion and Dragon (These days a lot of products on the market are in desperate need of an editor in this regard!). The Setting and style however is very different, and is a credit to RPGPundit's versitility.

The author definitely seems to have great fun writing this, and there's a heavy dose of humour throughout all 7 chapters, as we have come to expect from these Gonzo style RPGs.

The layout is good, and the artwork is of a high quality - with probably just the right amount so that it doesn't ever get to the point where it overshadows the actual content.

There's probably a lot of content in here that someone could probably lift for a non-Gonzo game, such as a 5E campaign too. There's a lot of good random tables, characters, factions and locations that could transcend a setting here.

Overall I was very impressed with this work. I know the author has made enemies within the more mainstream RPG hobby on Social Media for his outspokenness. But despite all the negativity directed at him, his work keeps selling and gaining traction. The reason for that is that it's very good and the guy is the real deal when it comes to writing RPGs and Settings. 'World Of The Last Sun' is evidence of that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Rafael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 07:49:01

Content: vast and flexible to any campaign Artwork: great Fun: unequivocable Value: excellent

Summary: you should consider acquiring this, in PDF or printed form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Felix V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 20:02:32

Great book! I was having difficulties converting modern weapons into a ancient famtasy setting and this book became an invaluable resource to add to my collection. worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by felipe m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 18:46:38

Exceptional content.

You'll find charts in here for use in any setting, not just the Last Sun setting, which btw is endlessly imaginative. It's Vance's Dying Earth with an even more gonzo sense of humor and adventure.

Did I mention the book is hilarious? It is. I found myself laughing at least once per page and not just giggling either, full blown (oh crap my coworkers can hear me) laughter.

Ever needed to stock that NPC herbalist's shop with something real interesting, jump to page 138 and start reading, it's worth the price of the book all by itself...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 17:16:39

I did not really know much about Gonzo before I started watching RPGPundit on YTube, when I saw that there will be a full book filled with Old-School and Gonzo... I am a simple man - I bought it :-) I do not regret it! The book is very well made and as for the content it is everything I expected from the RPGPundit - professional, well made, and very well designed.

Even if you are not into that sort of thing, you will find things in there that you can use in your normal DND 5e games (with a beat of tweaking).

Highly recommend giving it a go!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Brad M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 16:54:11

This is a great resource if you want to run a gonzo game. Even if you aren't wanting to run DCC, there are some new rules to enhance your game and random tables that can help you generate a lot of cool content (my favorites are the random floating island generator and the random junk table for wasteland travel); you could fit content from this book into any OSR game or really any system without too much work. If you aren't looking for new mechanics or random tables, I found a lot of the world lore to be very fun and think it makes for a good read if you're looking for inspiration or just a fun read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
by Jean-Francois B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2020 10:18:05

As background: I have Lion & Dragon and Cults of Chaos

TOSC is the kind of the book that each $ put on it, is weighted in ton of materials.

The book itself / design: at the same level than L&D and CoC; Clear design, and classical illustrations (historical and supernatural ones) on point.

The writting: as usual w/ RPG Pundit, the writting is clear, well made, non PC/SJW and the whole is refreshing and easy to read, compared to productions made by Chaosium & Co (yes I criticize but I have a pretty good amount of materials from Chaosium to be able to judge it).

The content: the book has 6 main parts:

  • additional characters classes; pretty standard for an OSR sourcebook but of course full of historical medieval context, which is less standard and in line with L&D
  • Special Rules: not a lot of them, which is good, but interesting ones like mass combat and crossbows/longbows
  • Spellbooks and Grimoires: again in line with the medieval vision on how magic is used, this part expand it greatly with very detailed content of 8 grimoires.
  • Astrology and the Arcana: other ways of magic
  • Medieval Life and Activities: this one I loved it particularly; outside of the medieval description of life activities, there are a good amount of encounter tables, where each entry could be a scenario hook for a sandbox/open play. It is colorful in context and a nursery of ideas to expand on them. The 55 pages of this section worth the book IMHO, even if the spellbooks / astrology / and the supernatural ones are pretty interesting too.
  • Last but not least the section about the Supernatural, especially about the Realm of the Fae. It also contains list of additional cursed artifacts and again, supernatural encounters that again can be scenario hooks and drives for the theatre of the mind.

In all, a very pleasing book that, even if you don't play to L&D, is packed with medieval elements usable for many settings.

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by .. .. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2020 17:14:40

First of all very neat, elegant and well thought d20 system. Just on 30+ pages you get almost everything you need to run OSR SF/ Space Opera game in the spirit of X-plorers or Mutant future old school. Recently we had a TON of OSR systems but mainly focusing on the fantasy genre. And all those Black Hack hacks (sic) were lacking some substance. Star Adventurer has a solid chasis to base a campaing on it. Ofc it is not a huge game like SWN, Traveller, Eclipse Phase or even White Star, but in its light weight it merely has any strong competiton. I was looking for a light system to run Carcosa/S-F mix and I find it ideal. Not too cumbersome as those above-mentioned and not too light like Alpha Blue for example. I really recommend to read and give it a shot. For four bucks it is a bargain. 5/5 (it lacks some guidelines on writing monsters or some elaborate tables but for an old school GM it should not be a problem at all).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #42: ...At the Darkness
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2020 13:15:27

A nice one-shot session. I plugged it into my 1e Dwimmermount Campaign without any trouble. The Wraith-Princes were cool and suitably lethal. The idea of going on a quest to retrieve a spell (Advance Magic Missile) was also different. Well worth the modest cost. Just watch out for Lenny the cannibal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #42: ...At the Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 20:54:01

I created a Homebrew Pyromancer for my AD&D 1e game. This supplement helped considerably, since he is wearing Red Dragon Scale Armor. I also have a NPC who is a monster eater. He loves to sample whatever succulent tidbits the PC's bring back from the dungeon. This publication came in handy again. The price was reasonable and it added some zip to my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2019 01:39:31

So tonight in my email I find that the other half grabbed me a pdf copy of RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 from Spectre Press. Basically what this book is a complation best of The RPG Pundit Presents which supports the Lion & Dragon Medivalauthentic rpg but it also supports other OSR games as well. The Lion & Dragon rpg is set during a real medieval historically accurate fantasy setting during the events of the War of the Roses. RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 clocks in at 266 pages of solidly done material with a nicely done layout, clean lines, & easy to read sections. There's even an index!

This book isn't just some cheese the 'best of' complelation book but an actual sourcebook with material selected to enhance the Lion & Dragon rpg. The RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 is a solidly researched & very well laid out book. It lives up to the quality of Lion & Dragon quite nicely.

The first thing we get is brand spanking new character classes. The courier is a PC class whose machinations & maneuver within the court is going to allow the PC's perhaps to get the backing of the crown if their really lucky. This is a class where the social structure of the court is going to be very important. The priest class in Albion is far more important then it seems & this class can represent anything from the humble village priest to the bishops in court. This is very important class in a medieval setting where quite literally your fortunes sometimes depended upon the support of the Church. Sages are another class that is one of th fulcrums of society during this time & they can be very important to the interior of a party of adventurers. Craftsmen are the unsung heroes of the world of the medival. Everything from boots to weapons are the realm of the craftsmen not to mention the interaction with the guilds. The archer is paramount to the warfare of the day esepecially during the War of the Roses. Here's where the archer PC ties back into the longbows/crossbows, advanced critical tables, domain management, and mass combat. This is a theme that we'll see throughout the RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1. The book presents these alternative & expanded rules with gusto & a real sense of danger to the PC's. This is done with the critical tables taking center stage! The critical tables are top notch & top drawer here. Very well done & solidly exacuted. The domain mangement rules are top as well because warfare, country up keep, local economics all play a central campaign & setting role. One of the places that the RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 really shines is the presentation of the supernatural & the occult. The book grabs the reader by the throat & presents new options for Chaos & occult depravity within the Albion setting.

Hellmouth not artwork from the RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1

Spellbooks and grimoires are abosolutely dangerous to life & limb. The supernatural lurks around every corner & the expanded options for the Magistars for the system are not only impressive but very useful at the table top level! This take is expanded into the ideas & management of the wizard's spellbook; "The role of a spellbook has been largely unchanged in most OSR rules systems. A wizard’s spellbook is where he stores the spells that must be memorized every day in a Vancian system. Other than that, it doesn’t do anything. It should not surprise anyone that this has no grounding in historical medieval/renaissance magic. It’s also kind of boring. This is a reinvention intended to make a spellbook more useful and more central to the magic-user experience, one founded on historical magical diaries." The idea here is the wizard's spell book becomes an object for adventure unto itself. This idea was put forth in the Lion & Dragon rpg really finds its legs here. The grimoires finally get their due in RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1;" Grimoires were the key magical texts of medieval European occultism. They were not spellbooks in the OSR sense, nor were they really magical handbooks. The key training in magic was given through word of mouth, from teacher to student. The Grimoires, rather, were the collected and disseminated works of advanced magical techniques; sometimes devised by a single author and sometimes compiled by various sources. To use them, you had to already have the basic training, which wasn’t explicitly given in the books. Instead, studying the Grimoires provided new techniques for magic-users to learn, if they could get their hands on it. The Grimoires presented here are based on real historical Grimoires, adapted in ways to be useful for an OSR campaign."

One of the most dangerous of the grimoires get's its due & that's the Goetia; "This grimoire is the summoner’s mother lode. It details the techniques for summoning seventy-two different demons, each with special powers. These demons are chaotic and dangerous, requiring great caution when dealing with them. To summon them, the magician must draw both a protective magical circle for himself and a warded magical triangle (which is where the demon will appear) in a room for this special purpose. Then a sigil of the demon’s appearance is placed in the triangle with incenses. Finally, incantations are made to summon the demon by its name. Each summoning costs about 300gp for the required inks and incenses. It is also necessary to design and consecrate a special ring, amulet, censer, and plate, for a combined one-time cost of 1,200gp." Yeah these are magical & occult operations that should only be performed by Ablion's courtly wizards. But a copy of this book falling into the wrong hands could kick off an inquistor campaign or adventure. This section is extremely detailed & highly dangerous to PC's. So its great to get the forces of Chaos stirred up in a campaign! The Book of the Art of Hours could give an adventurer some very dangerous influences if used with the subtly & a bit of wit. Many of the grimoires featured in the RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 tie into the sections on the Astrology, the Arcana, & an actual workable section on the Tarot. I really like a well done section on reading & using Tarot cards.

Not artwork from the Companion but Number 12, the Hanged Man, the game of Jean Dodal (early xviii th century )

We get section after section on various magical & occult grimoires with their occult mysteries, supernatural rites & dangerous entities associated with them. Each of the chapters on the Arcana, Astology, etc. all ties back into & folds into itself. All of this is really useful at the table top level & I can see using many of these systems in other old school or OSR games. Chapter five is where things begin to heat up for me as a dungeon master we get insight into the Church & how to use it in game. Common sense guidelines & rules to incorporate the Church of Albion into your home campaigns. We get day to day activities that the PC's engage in & how this would fit into the life of an adventurer in Lion & Dragon; "Low-level characters are generally focused on mere survival, combat, and adventuring as they rise in power when playing Lion & Dragon and other Medieval-Authentic campaigns, such as those set in worlds like Dark Albion. At some point, however, players are likely to be interested in developing their characters beyond the immediate concerns of any given session. The following guidelines detail a few of the things on which mid-level characters with time on their hands may focus, as well as the kind of attention those sorts of characters could attract." Everything from PC homelessness to running a mercenary unit are covered. Costs of living, in between day to day life is covered. Even how to hand the official wizards of Albion is covered here;"Magisters with experience in the arcane arts are highly valued as scholars. They usually gain the opportunity to take teaching positions at their alma mater (whether Oxford or Cambridge); in the later period of the campaign, new positions open in Middleham Collegium. Magisters of at least Level 6 are the most-likely to be offered positions, but lower-level magisters of exceptional fame and reputation may also be offered the same. Characters who are notorious for their infamy, lack of piety, or corrupt morals are lesslikely to be offered positions" Gangs, big business, even how to run a Church priority is covered here. And yes these sort of day to day details need to be covered especially in between adventures. Noble attention & favor is also covered in gory detail. The patronage of a noble can make or break an adventurer. Remember life is cheap especially during times of warfare. Inheritence for PC's is covered as well this is often something that could lead to money & even monster slaying. Merchant & caravan activity ties right back into the craftsman & merchant PC classes at the beginning of RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1. Everything from setting up at a new market to shipping out to the dark European Middle East is covered which could lead to more adventure for the PC's. Courtly life & intrigues is a chapter unto itself & it adds another dimension to the life of minor nobles, royals, & more in the courts of the princes & noblemen. Rounding out the book is a chapter on the realm of the Fae! Finally we've given a deep dive into the world of medival authentic supernatural realms of the Fae & man is it dangerous. The realms of the Elves, faerie animals, entities, dangers, encounters, etc. all round out this chapter. We are given more side glances into the occult realms of the Fae & the Elves. Its well done, researched, & with plenty of hooks to get the juices flowing. Cursed artifacts is another section & there's plenty of danger & deadliness in the examples given here for these dangerous magic items. There's a boat load of trouble for the DM who wants to add a touch of malice, danger, & even a bit of whimsy in these items. Finally we get a boat load of trouble in the form of sinister supernatural wilderland encounters & these are very well done! I can see using these with other OSR games such as Castles & Crusades.

All in all I think that the RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 is well worth your time & money. I think this is a five star book because it adds not only new optional material to the Lion & Dragon rpg but it could be easily used with other OSR rpgs to add even more bang for the buck. The companion could easily be used to enhance say a game of Castles & Crusades from Troll Lords or even Dungeon Crawl Classics! There three things to remember here. My wife knows of my love of the Lion & Dragon rpg. She spent her money sight unseen & knows the quality of Rpg Pundit's products & didn't think twice. On the whole I think that RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1 is a five outta five product. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #84: Cave of the Hawk
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2019 11:24:08

Id give it a solid 4 Stars. A good medieval mystery. Not any kick in the door , kill, loot. But more roleplaying, asking questions, thinking, investigating. I gave 4 stars because I thought it could be better with a map of the town and a list of NPCs fleshed out for the GM. But still a very good product for a great system- Lion & Dragon /Dark Albion. Hopefully all these adventures are compiled into one book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #84: Cave of the Hawk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates