DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
A Spark in Fate Core
by Angela R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2020 17:29:52

The world-building in this is GREAT for FATE. I've even ported the concepts to other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Spark in Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

After the War
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 08:04:28

I love the setting of this game. The idea of the Song is just so cool and scary, but having the focus of the game be the follow-up time when people are trying to rebuild, knowing the threats are still out there. Great.

Also, it's often said that games are "about" the things thang your characters need to do to advance. In this case, it's about creating beliefs for your characters and then playing through scenes that challenge or support those beliefs, so you can examine them critically in context with story. That's the good stuff, in my opinion, especially with the added horror that the threats in this game can sometimes "re-write" those beliefs! Is your neighbor in a good mood, or is it a Song infection? Are they having a rough day, or is it Tormenta? The paranoia and the HOPE. It's very cool.

In our play session, it took us a little while to get used to the way scenes are framed, but it's a neat system once you get the hang of it.

Obviously, this is a game that could feature some things that not everyone would be comfortable with, (framed as a horror game and all), but if you've got a group of players interested in that, I think this is a good one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
After the War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Spark in Fate Core
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 00:15:59

A Spark in Fate Core does a great job of expanding on the world building stage of any Fate Core campaign. I have used it to great success several times!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Spark in Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Spark in Fate Core
by Adam L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:50:19

I've been looking for a way to build a world that my friends would be invested in to introduce them to Fate and stumbled upon this in a google+ group. After reading it I definitely can't wait to put this to use and get some inspiration from my group! The suggested method is clear and concicely written with excellent illistrative examples. Highly recommended for an aspiring GM like myself



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Enlightened Man
by Scot H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2017 18:23:47

So far I've only browsed through the material in this module, but it looks excellent - just what I was looking for to drop some complexity into the FATE game I'm running. Good stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Enlightened Man
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sig: Manual of the Primes
by Charles H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 13:08:52

I really like the system and the story but I had a hard time getting the prime manual to open and I still do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sig: Manual of the Primes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Charles! Please contact me directly at genesisoflegend@gmail.com and I will be happy to get this sorted out for you. Sorry about the delay!
Sig: Manual of the Primes
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2017 16:07:24

I am a backer for the kickstarter of Sig: Manual of the Primes. This review is based on reading through the PDF but not having played it at the table yet. Sig appraches world and character building with dedicated rules that lean on games like Burning Wheel and Fiasco to create interesting characters and NPC's. The rules push the players to explore their character motivations and in turn shape the world around them. I would recommend anyone intersted in character driven stories and shared setting creation check out Sig: Manual of the Primes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sig: Manual of the Primes
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2016 05:51:17

This is a cool setting well suited to the concept of the game. It's also very flexible, leaving us an infinity of "prime worlds" which are left undescribed, the option of bringing in extra planes, minor planes and plane shards, and leaving the actual history of the 'verse shrouded in rumors too. Oh and each major plane, being itself infinite, contains an unknown number of additional divine beings and/or races of people.

But I do think the book ends up a little light, especially on description of the city Sig itself. Being a crossing point between the planes, Sig has the potential to be a truly amazing city, a distillation of what it means to be metropolitan; the archtypical city on a scale beyond even what China Mieville's books do. And there are some nice descriptions of what that's like, at least in broad strokes. But we are given only 4 major districts, each with a bare sentence of description; nothing on the key politicians and community figures within the city.

Sig is an ever-changing place, whose very rules and appearance shift when planar alignment changes. Players can roll the initial planar influence randomly, or choose from 5 suggested "common combinations" given names like "The City of Secrets" (planes of Wind, Freedom, Dreams), "The City of Power" (Flame, Destruction, Lore) etc. But here again I would have liked a little description; what were they picturing that made them call that combination the City of Secrets?

Also - and this last point isn't really a complaint - the book sometimes took the approach of listing evocative names without saying what they mean. For example we're given a full page of various job categories common in the city, some of which are less than self-explanatory (what's a bloodwatcher?). And we're given names to two or three shard planes, and a handful of otherwise undescribed races and peoples from the Plane of Earth. I would have liked that approach for more things. Each plane could have used a list of other races, places and Powers (godlings, deities, whathaveyou).

So - overall, a very cool setting, which cries out for more worldbuilding, in a good way, but also kind of in a bad way.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I just wanted to let you know that I have been hard at work in expanding Sig, based in large part on your excellent feedback in this review. All customers of the existing version will be upgraded to the enhanced edition of the product, when it\'s ready!
Sig: Manual of the Primes
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2016 23:30:40

I'm a Planescape fan from way back, and Sig totally channeled that Planescape feeling for me without being a simple rehash or clone. I love the planar cosmology that Sig presents, and love the city at least as much.

The book is colorful, well produced, and easy to digest. I enjoyed the planar races presented in it.

The book is for the Spark system (itself Creative Commons licensed), but I think it's easily hackable and adaptable to other games as a concept and setting. Fate and Whitehack both came to mind for me.

The next time I dig into running something planar / plane hopping / infiinite city, Sig will be it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spark Roleplaying Game
by Phil N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2015 09:37:04

Spark is a complete storytelling package, covering setting creation, roleplaying and superb storytelling advice. This is a narrative-heavy game, with the emphasis on the beliefs of the Heroes. When used for setting creation, the process creates beliefs for the setting, and it is these beliefs the Heroes challenge during the game.

Spark works with any setting, and even includes three sample settings in the book. The digital bundle from Genesis of Legend is brilliant value, with bonus pdfs and multiple formats.. If you are looking for a storytelling game with an emphasis on character and belief, then Spark is the game for you.

For more details, see my lengthy review at Tales of a GM:

http://talesofagm.com/?p=1853

Happy Gaming Phil



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spark Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spark Roleplaying Game
by Sirko R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2014 17:16:31

Spark completely fulfilled it's premise to me. It's a neat beautiful product for cooperative storytelling in form of a very simple pen and paper role-playing game. It's written plain, simple, short but with short examples very easy to understand, and three settings to go that also engross the understanding of how it works and reveals the most fun and entertainment.

The great thing about it for me is, that it's a very good, quick yet helpful guide to boil the usual questions to all players what they want to play and experience down to a smooth story-weaving altogether with everyone participating. This way you can play any scenario you like with it, as long as you bring some spark of creativity. This game makes it really easy and fluid to create worlds, characters and most interesting stories with each other.

For the three offered settings it's all quite non-standard. I found the Japanese future colony setting the most compelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Spark in Fate Core
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 13:01:19

I enjoyed this little book a lot. I haven't had a chance to use it at the table yet, but I really liked what I saw, and I think my players will too. Not only will it help with our game concept I think it's a great way to get players involved i n the design process, and I can easily see myself using it even for my non Fate games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Spark in Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Spark in Fate Core
by Bryce C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2013 20:09:28

I picked this up because I did have a copy of Spark, and of Fate Core, so I was intrigued to see how the two books meshed. The result was pretty impressive, as I love the idea of allowing the Players to invest themselves in the setting creation, and this product allows for just that. Not only does it give the Players investment, it allows the GM an opportunity to see just what kinds of stories appeal to each player, while allowing the other players a perspective as well, so that when the actual setting is complete, everybody understands what it is that the players desire to experience, and they can create characters that will fully inhabit the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Spark in Fate Core
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2013 23:35:36

I'm pretty much indifferent to this rules mod. I'm not familiar with the 'spark' referred to in the title and only picked this up because it was Fate-related and free. As a GM I usually have a well-thought-out setting before I begin, and these rules would appear to sabotage that. On the other hand, this may be better for quickly coming up with a one-shot game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spark Roleplaying Game
by Oliver K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2013 07:13:53

I backed Spark in its Kickstarter and got a chance to read and play the finished product soon after it was released.

The game itself is well-explained and has simple, clear and well-explained rules, showing good workmanship.

While the rules may be elegant and simple, mastering Spark is not for everyone. Spark puts world- and storybuilding in the hands of everybody at the table. Only if all participants can handle that, Spark will flow well. The good news is - you learn this while you play Spark.

In Spark, at least with a prepared setting world, you begin by selecting the beliefs in the world that you want to explore as a group. Then some factions to represent these beliefs. You define some basic stats for the GM that he can roll on. And finally you create some ties between those factions. It's all in the book, the process is explained very well.

Then you define characters - by chosing your own beliefs, ties, stats and skills. Spark knows only four stats: Body, Mind, Heart and Spark. The physical, mental and emotional aptitude to influence his or her story directly, plus the Spark - the ability of the player to shape the world and story surrounding the character. Spark is a meta-gaming attribute. Inexperienced players do have problems with Spark, because the Spark attribute is intended to allow you to shape the story. Unfortunately you can also use it to nullify challenges the game master tries to create before they arise. If you're stuck in thinking "I have to protect my character at all cost" you're tempted to use your Spark attribute to prevent the GM from creating challenges. And then not much at all happens.

So, playing Spark requires players who want things to happen - including to their characters. Spark invites you to put the notion of character safety aside and make the story and the beliefs king. This supported well by the gaming mechanisms in that you can only take damage when you really want to influence things so hard that you would actually rather take harm than let one failed roll stand as it is.

Because rolls play a different role in Spark. Everybody is allowed to make declarations - you can boldly state pretty much anything and if nobody at the table objects it will become game world fact. So if you declare you make a triple salto jump over a canyon and no one - including the GM - objects, then that happens. If somebody objects, you're rolling out a conflict. You roll the needed attributes and skills your action requires, but the GM might for example roll against you and state that you fall into the canyon because it's too wide - a physical danger, so the GM would roll his physical attribute. Highest roll usually shapes the story, but there are rules for taking damage to increase the result of your roll or for escalating the roll.

Rolls then usually only happen if the people at the table have different ideas of where the story should go. Sometimes this is the GM to make the game more challenging. In principle a game without rolls would be possible. Only that usually some dynamics exist because of the various factions, beliefs and ties that put different characters, and possibly their players at odds. So, the rolls exist not to determine the fate of a player. You can narrate that perfectly fine without rolling. The rolls exist to determine the story outcome and twists.

This is a lot of freedom, and if you appreciate story-telling freedom, you will enjoy Spark. It's not something you can expect to unpack at the gaming table and to work right out of the box with most established RPG groups. It takes a bit getting used to. But if you accept the challenge that the Spark style of playing and storytelling presents, you might find it to be very rewarding.

For the would-be world creators Spark is a gem. For my own sessions I wrote a Spark / Fallout setting within less than two days and it was ready for play. The process of creating setting worlds is well-documented and fun. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spark Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates