DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Arkham Gazette #1
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 13:31:29

This is a must have book for any Call of Cthulhu junkie. Take a journey through Lovecraft Country. You'll be glad you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
by Alonso A. (. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 14:52:09

Given the compatibility between editions and the rich history of the game, Call of Cthulhu Keepers really have an embarrasment of riches in terms of options and avenues to explore. So mucho so that at times it might even feel overwhelming, considering we're talking about 40 years of published material. Sentinel Hill Press' Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide is a godsend that makes life easier for anyone planning to run a game in the creepy locations penned by H.P. Lovecraft himself, by far the game's central setting, or at least it's most popular. This is a comprehensive guide that not only helps Keepers track down scenarios and supplements by providing concise summaries, but also gives them a grasp of Call of Cthulhu's rich history with its introductory essay, bibliography, recommended supplements and reading list. A must buy for most Keepers, and also a valuable asset to anyone interested in the evolution of Call of Cthulhu and Lovecraft-inspired gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Country Scenarios: A Keeper's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dare
by Casey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2020 17:58:10

Beyond the nostalgia for the 80s this (pleasantly) stirs up, this scenario is an all around winner. It is perfect for a one night, one shot game (or convention play), it is perfect as an intro to Call of Cthulhu for newbies, and it is a perfect representation of the kind of creepiness (and gross out horror, if you play it a certain way!) that can come from a good Call of Cthulhu game. My only regret is that I didn't play as a player before reading it! This is on my short list of games to run once convention season picks back up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dare
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2020 09:08:51

Ran this 3 times. Around 3-4 hours. It was super fun! Perfect for a Halloween one-shot. Also maybe a cool concept as a prequel to a later adventure of adults. I ran Unland from Fears Sharp Needles and had the characters be grown ups from this campaign. It was smashing. Absolutely buy and run this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2020 12:29:47

I LOVE this scenario. its great for a night if scary fun. I had the pleasure of running an earlier version on Halloween a few years back and had an awesome time. I'm super happy to finally be holding the physical cooy in my hands. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dare
by Rich O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2020 08:00:52

First off, this is both well thought out and scary. The 'kid friendly' (ha) rules are right on the money. Simplified skills and mechanisms for playing 11 year olds. It really lets you get into the theme and the story. Premade characters are great and let you get right into it.

I had couple of minor quibles and I only post them here incase the designer decides to ever do an update. The graphic design of the module is inconsistent. Everything outside and the ground floor is clearly marked. Rooms have big text saying what it is. But when you go downstairs, it's all just kind of mashed together. That made it had to move around. Also, the maps were placed in the middle of the room descriptions, which again made it hard to find stuff.

Without spoilers - some of the combat info is confusing. Damage of 1d3-2 seems like a weird formula. One creature has a dodge of 45 in one part of the text and 85 in another. The kid rules of 'you both roll an attack, and whoever has a better success does damage' is good, but there is challenge that doesn't seem to have a physical attack, so you kind of have to wing it.

The maps are fine, but they are just a floor plan. It would be great to have actual maps (with furniture) on them.

I would buy this again on Roll20 if it were setup with tokens and maps and whatnot.

Keep in mind, it's a secure PDF, so exporting the character sheets isn't really an option - I'd recomend posting them and the kid rules seperatly for folks that buy the module.

All that said, this thing was spooky and fun. My guys had a blast and are begging for more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #3
by Geoff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 11:29:35

Another solid issue of Arkham Gazette, this time featuring witches and witchcraft. The editor and authors take pains to explore the subject respectfully (the article on witch trials was thorough), while tipping the hat to portrayals in popular culture (which help fuel public interest), and tying it in to the Cthulhu Mythos and the Call of Cthulhu game, which is why we read AG in the first place. :)

The first four articles (all are highlighted below) are key in my view, and really should be read together. Articles that especially stood out to me include the following:

  • "New England's Witch Trials": A solid overview of what persecutions were carried out in which colony, by whom, and what the results were. No one in New England was actually burnt at the stake.

  • "Witchcraft in Lovecraft Country": What sorts of witch covens are active in the setting, and where. Plus, there is information about witchcraft locations.

  • "Building a Better Witch": Creating a more realistic NPC witch (white, grey, black, or Mythos) for your players to encounter, plus some new spells and ideas for a witch's grimoire. The notes at the end on how to use a witch in play (they aren't always adversaries) are very useful.

  • "Gods of the Witches": How witches in Call of Cthulhu might relate to specific Great Old Ones and their minions. Very thorough, and useful for setting up a cult for the game.

  • "Witch's Hollow": A nice writeup of a spooky location featured in a story by August Derleth. Introduces a new monster.

  • "The Queen of Night": A full adventure scenario involving the machinations of a young woman descended from an evil witch named Ann Whitlock, who is trying to build her own coven - one bloody sacrifice at a time. It's an open-ended, deadly investigation that requires the players to be imaginative...and to be prepared to suffer a nasty fate. Well structured and paced, this is not an introductory adventure.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #1
by Geoff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2019 00:00:14

A solid issue that expands on what has already been written about the town of Arkham. I enjoyed all of the articles, but the ones that are "must-reads" for the Lovecraft of Call of Cthulhu devotee are the following:

  • "Arkham's Diners" (Bret Kramer): If you're like me you've never given diners much thought, but this article goes into considerable detail about how this culinary phenomenon came to be, and what one could expect when visiting one in the 1920s. Definitely an interesting take on the stereotypical RPG opening of everyone meeting in a bar.
  • "Arkham Curios" (various): A handful of strange items that may be found in and around Arkham, all with historical background ideas, staging hints, and twists they can add to your game.
  • "The Bosworth House" (Ben Wenham): A short adventure scenario focusing on a homicide investigation that dishes the creepiness in heaping portions. The main location is the house itself, a place that may or may not have a dark history - it's all up to the Game Master to decide. The author makes it clear up front that this scenario is heavily based on "The Yellow Wallpaper"*, a short story by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (available for free online), and like that story explores loneliness, isolation, and insanity. This scenario is also unique in that it offers the option of having one of the players be afflicted with delusions no one else can see. A challenge to play and run, but possibly very rewarding.

*The author strongly recommends the Game Master read the story before running this scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #2
by Geoff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2019 06:31:21

"Shadow Over Innsmouth" is one of my favourite stories by Lovecraft, and I've always found the story of Innsmouth's decay to be fascinating. This issue of AG has been a treat - especially because I don't have the original CoC material. The contributors explored the setting to a depth and degree of refinement I've come to expect, and even if you don't use the materials as written it will likely spur ideas. I liked almost everything, but the following articles really stand out:

Innsmouth Gold - an exploration of the treasures of the Deep Ones and how they can be acquired and work in your campaign.

The Isle of Shoals - a description of a real place in the area that likely partly inspired Lovecraft to create Innsmouth.

The Ponape Scripture - a writeup of a tome mentioned in several stories.

A Guide to Newburyport - instant mini setting with all you need. Well done.

Drawn from the Water - a delightful adventure about a darkly inspired artist. The false ending can lull your players into false security, and then you hit them with the true threat. An excellent model for adventures that end with a twist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #0
by Geoff G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2019 21:50:17

This is a great resource for Call of Cthulhu players, as well as Lovecraft enthusiasts in general. This magazine not only expands on what was published in the original game (according to each issue's theme); it also explores relevant historical places and events, with citations. There is a very concise adventure scenario at the end that is well paced.

Definitely a thinking person's gaming supplement, with a look and feel equal to anything produced by Chaosium.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #2
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2018 21:41:31

Great issue! Sentinel Hill Press knows Lovecraft country. Loved it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #0
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2017 18:55:42

The Arkham Gazettes add a nice touch of historic realism (even when the material is fictional) to any game based on Lovecraft country, as well as invaluable plot hooks to get your mind working. For example, in this issue there is a nice discussion on the Aylesbury Pike, a roadway that connects multiple towns featured in Lovecraft fiction that is described so well you would think it existed. There is also a short encounter involving a spectral being along this roadway and a bibliography of other published scenarios which feature the Pike, so that you could use the Phantom to gather your investigators before heading to other adventures or perhaps it is a waystop between scenarios. This and other issues provide the kind of detail that will immerse your players into the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #1
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 15:03:23

This is essential reading for anyone running or building an Arkham campaign. Full of deep research and fun ideas you can use in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #0
by Joseph b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 16:49:51

Very helpful for anyone writing a campaign, hope to use it in my upcoming campaine



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Arkham Gazette #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arkham Gazette #0
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2016 22:48:53

The font and layout are beautiful and the material is wonderful. I always love adventure seeds for kicking off play, historical information also makes for a much richer game experience and a well-written scenario complete with attractive handouts completes a great magazine.

I really hope you want to pay, it's easily worth five bucks.

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates