DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
36 Dramatic Situations
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2021 12:09:09

I'm writing this review just to laugh at the idiocy of the review written by Maury B. As Jim B. mentions, THIS is a trimmed down version of a well respected treatise written in 1895. That version was intended to help playwrights generate ideas to help create good intriguing dramatic stories for stage and theater.

INTERESTINGLY, 1895 is ALSO precisely when the original American feminists started rolling up their sleeves and (rightfully) demanding fair treatment under the Constitution, as God's law dictates. THOSE feminists knew the value of being a strong female and sought to elevate femininity in general, as opposed to today's anti-feminist feminists, who've got their heads screwed on backwards and think that femininity is a curse.

The truly gut-ripping hilarious aspect of all of this, is that even if today's overly sensitive 'snowflakes' can't handle the idea of a well-centered female thoroughly enjoying the idea of being rescued by a big strong handsome knight in shiny armor... the true intention of THIS book was to stimulate your mind. If this book has offended you... then it has accomplished its goal. That is its entire purpose in existence. :D :D :D

Write some NEW story lines. ACTUALLY, before you declare yourself an official torch bearing new age playwright for the ‘woke’ generation.. I highly suggest that you study the field and human nature in general first. I’ve seen a handful of ‘woke’ RPG content coming out over the last few years, and most of it flops horribly.. not because people hate its wokeness, but because it sucks. I’ve even commented on a few of them to try to help.. but it’s kind of like trying to tell a fish how to plant potatoes.

THIS version is intended as a simple, easy and ultra-quick reference guide. If anyone actually wants to do a scholarly study on the actual content, then you really should get ahold of the original English translation and study that. Then you could make an actual informed opinion to present to the public. I'm looking at you, Maury.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
36 Dramatic Situations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
by Cameron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 15:14:28

To call this a campaign is a vast oversell, considering well over three quaters of the book is mostly maps presented without context or any real descriptions.

The first sixteen or so pages rough out a setting that you can mostly ignore if you're playing with an established setting, besides three pages that give you the hook for the adventure the rest of this book is all fluff without any real direction.

As a campaign book, this is very lackluster. As a setting guide, it's a start. As a contextless map booklet, it's pointless since these are all recycled FREE maps.

The only value this book holds to me is a helping hand on how I can structure my own personal setting guide.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 4
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 01:02:31

I love the first three of these books, but this one is just not as good. The names are good as always, the encounters are not bad, but the rest tend to be of little general use. I don't see much need to roll up a fictional spice or a random note in a bottle. The magical and cursed items, as well as the bounties, would require significantly more development, making them better as ideas than as random tables. The song titles are just silly. There are a few gems (NPC physical descriptions in particular make a great random table), but overall this book is merely okay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 3
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:53:57

This book, while good, is not as good as the first two. The items and encounters tables are good, and the "Dungeon Health Side Effects" table is something I did not realize I needed until I had it. On the other hand, the food and drink tables highlight a significant weakness of all of the tables: everything is a 1 in 100 chance. There is no accounting for more and less common results. A banana or a strawberry is just as likely a fruit as a rambutan or something called a junglesop. There are a lot of very obscure things on some of these tables, and the common ones are not any more common. This reduces their value as random tables, though they still offer a lot of ideas. Overall, though, this book is still worth having.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 2
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:47:54

Not as good as the first one, but there is still plenty here to make it worthwhile. The "Insults" table just didn't resonate with me, and the "NPC Reaction to Failed Pickpocket Attempt" table gives about 1 in 5 pickpocket marks magical powers and makes another 2 in 5 openly violent, with lots of frankly silly responses. On the other hand, the dungeon rooms, market stalls, and various items were quite good, not to mention the ever-useful town names. The reasons for a PC absence, while not necessarily useful, are very funny. I'm fine with two weak tables out of twenty-five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:39:59

An excellent collection for adding bits of flavor to an adventure. Not every entry on every table is great, but the vast majority are quite good. The book titles are probably my favorite, but nothing is quite as helpful as a long list of names for those minor NPCs that show up rather unexpectedly just because the players have questions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
by Adam T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2020 06:47:25

Absolutetly spectacular! Works great in conjunction with Roll20 decks and other randomization applications. That alone makes the digital version more useful than paper I think! Toatally recommend this to any GM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I rebuilt the file and updated it. I have no idea why it would be password locked.
The Book of Random Tables: Quests 2
by Badger B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 05:17:54

Awesome cover art!

I like the layout. There are a number of d100 tables included in the book. The tables themselves are not your normal one liners. Each entry is simple but quite complete. Here is an example:

"The queen has been cursed. Now, if she touches someone they will die. The court wizard claims to have heard of this kind of curse and asks the party to find a cure."

Within the book are the following d100 tables:

100 Curses 100 Deserts 100 Disasters 100 Dragons 100 Dwarves 100 Fighter Guild 100 Ghosts 100 Halflings 100 Mountains 100 War

In my opinion this is a solid DM resource book and a great one to keep on the shelf when plannning sessions / campaigns / one shots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Quests 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables: Modern
by Thundermark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 23:41:52

Edit: Updating my review since I saw the Matt Davis made changes to fix the problems I addressed. :)

TL;DR: Usable, but glaring bits of laziness detract from what could have been a better product.

The Good: Straightforward to use, many useful d100 tables, very up-to-the-times "modern" (unlike many d20 Modern publications from the early 2000s that still have modems as a separate item), I like the mention of SpaceX.

The Bad: Any PDF bigger than a pamphlet really should have a TOC. Also, alphabetizing the lists for ease of refernce would be helpful (there are free alphabetization tools online).

The Ugly: Well, since the Matt Davis fixe the problems I addressed, there seem to be no glaring errorrs.

Thank you, Matt, for taking the time to fix this, & I apologize if my initial review sounded a bit harsh. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the detailed review. I addressed a number of the issues you pointed out and updated the file.
Dungeons: 51 Dungeons for Fantasy Tabletop Role-Playing Games
by Gerald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2020 09:42:37

I was interested to see what this would really do for me as a GM. I bought the softcover book. It is awesome! I love all the plots and suggested hooks. I have used it to start the creative juices flowing on two adventures so far. I expect that I will be using this for many more. I highly reccommend this for those that run games and like to have unique adventures. The maps are icing on the cake. I used one as is and the other I expanded on to fit my story line. BUY IT NOW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons: 51 Dungeons for Fantasy Tabletop Role-Playing Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeons: 51 Dungeons for Fantasy Tabletop Role-Playing Games
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2020 20:18:12

I bought this on a whim - it was on sale and I figured why not... And it is awesome! What a pleasant surprise. Well thought out, just enough detail to make my life as a GM easier, but not a ton of words to wade through either. And the Maps are great. Good book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
by Roman E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2020 10:41:26

Although the content looks great, unfortunately the layout is terrible. Each page is an image, so there is no way to search for text, and with the thick black border, printing is not an option. Navigating through this book is really too complicated, and finding tables or keywords through the search option is impossible. This is an ongoing problem since a long time, hopefully the issues will be address soon.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I rebuilt the entire file and updated it.
The Book of Random Tables: Wild West
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2020 18:12:40

Worthy buy...though there are a few anachronisms in the gun tables.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Wild West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 4
by Stephanie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2020 17:51:48

I use the Books of Random Tables for everything. Even if I don't use the specific thing I rolled, they're great for inspiration. A fantastic addition to the series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
by Ester R. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2020 14:04:17

I love the setting and my players are loving the campaign. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The King's Road: An Epic Fantasy RPG Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 101 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates