DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cover full page - Forgotten - RPG Stock Art
Publisher: Dean Spencer Art
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2018 17:23:00

This image is almost certainly the single biggest factor as to why the Exodus System core book sold so well. Dean is an incredible artist. Just look at that picture. A statue in the middle of a swamp or lake. Trees growiing off of it. What killed the skeleton? How long has this statue been here? So many questions. It really creates a sense of wonder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Forgotten - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
Publisher: Dean Spencer Art
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2018 17:18:54

The oddest thing. I came here to review this artwork, adn it turns out that someone else already had the same reason as me. This image inspired me to wwrite a game, basically. The storytelling was so interesting, and the central character so powerful, that I could not get it out of my head. I just had to write an adventure about this picture.

To do that I had to write a game. So I came up with The Exodus System and then wrote the adventure THe Centaur Kurgan for it. Dean's work is amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Saga Stock (Federal Class Starship)
Publisher: Peter Saga
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2018 07:56:06

You've got to get this ship. I mean look at it. You can practically hear the LAZORS going PEW! PEW! PEW! Clean, attractive file with a transparent background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga Stock (Federal Class Starship)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crime Network
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 13:43:24

This game is a detailed and realistic look at the mafia. Detailed character creation that is shorter than Pathfinder but maybe a little longer than traditional OSR systems. Good production values. Clear writing. Pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crime Network
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DayTrippers Core Rules
Publisher: As If Productions
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 13:27:18

TL;DR, everything you need but the postage stamp and the bicycle. This is a trippy game. It basically accomplishes what The Strange attempts to do, but better. Where The Strange and Numenera just try to be weird by saying that they're weird, DayTrippes actually brings game mechanics to support it. Character creation is simple and balanced, yet full of depth, fiction-wise. If I were ever to play a Futurama RPG, DayTrippers would be my system of choice.

Story control stays mainly with the GM, but players get a spotlight scene every session, which helps to create a more collaborative feeling. The conversion notes in the back are fantastic (specialty for the PbtA system).

Balancing your dept and Earth-side obligations with the "planet of the week" adventure system makes it easy to balance overarching story with random episodes.

The rules are short, and they don't contain any excess baggage.

I'd recommend this system to anyone looking to play something different.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DayTrippers Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Classes Series 1 - Mage (F)
Publisher: Forrest Imel Stock Art
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2017 19:23:19

Clear, gorgeous and iconic. Best of all, each character in this series has a different primary color so they all look fantastic next to one another.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Classes Series 1 - Mage (F)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Solo
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2017 00:15:14

This book makes me mad. Mad that I didn't write it. It's a follow-up to Paul's now-classic Star Trader, adn pretty much replaces it. When Star Trader first came out I asked the author to make a version for scouts, and not only has he done that, he also includes solo campaign ideas for naval patrols and just vanilla Traveller. The only thing that I don't like is the Plan section. Something about it feels non-Traveller. I like that it simplifies things, but I really would like it better if there were a more granular option, where instead of rolling once for the whole adventure you roll for sections or something, or where you generate X number of challenges and then resolve them, even with a single roll. Overall very good book. Buy, play it, live it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Solo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Jacob! I distinctly remember you asking for a scouts version of Star Trader, and I remember telling you that it was a very difficult proposition. It took many months of play-testing to reach a viable exploration system - I'm glad you like it! I should say here, that the Plan is a great tool, but it doesn't replace the normal skill system. Skill rolls for characters can be made at any time to resolve problems or issues that are on a smaller scale. I'm reasonable sure I included an example or two of that in the Example of Play.
Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2016 15:05:19

As a matter of full disclosure I have a professional relationship with Lord Zsezse Works and Black Scrolls Games, an affiliated studio. I have no stake in the company and I pay for every product that I've ever received from them. This ship is cool. I got it as a promo bundled with an island and ocean map from Black Scrolls and they go very well together. There are plenty of spots on the ship that make a GM or player say "I wanna put that in the game!" Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropical Islands - Map-Tile Set
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2016 14:58:34

As a matter of full disclosure I have a professional relationship with Lord Zsezse Works, a studio affiliated with Black Scrolls Games. I initiated this relationship because I'm a long-time fan of LZW's work. I paid for my copy of this product. This is one of the best battlemats that I've ever seen. It features the same gorgeous near-photorealistic look that you find in both LZW and BSG products. Each tile is distinct and many have elements that help inspire your storytelling (what's in the cave? for example). Just get it, especially since it comes with a pirat e ship (if you're one of the first 100 customers).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropical Islands - Map-Tile Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Numenera Character Options 2
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2016 23:46:37

The Glint and Seeker Types fill out what this game needs. They are basically diplomats and explorers. Also, the new Foci are cool. I can't wait to Delve Too Deep, become a spaceship or merge with crystal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Numenera Character Options 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
Publisher: Samardan Press
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:06:44

Really nice book. Basically Traveller but friendly to the OSR community. Get it; enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Engine System Reference Document
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knights versus Snails
Publisher: Parenthesis Press
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2016 18:40:26

Brilliant and hilarious. It seems that the author reads the same articles in his spare (work) time that I do. You can memorize the rules in one read-through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights versus Snails
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Jacob! Glad you enjoyed the game!
Legacy Reference Sheets
Publisher: UFO Press
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2016 11:14:44

Do you like any of the World/PbtA games? If so, get this. The playbooks are fun and immersive. They just updated the art to look fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Mortals
Publisher: Technical Grimoire Games
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2016 12:59:33

As someone who loves interesting ways to make new takes on RPGs, I really dig this one. I had been into it during the playtest but missed out on the Kickstarter. The best things about this game: Chargen is even faster than in PbtA games, you get to use poker cards, and the dice probabilities are really well-balanced. I can easily see myself hacking this system to run a Power Rangers game, or something based on X-Men.

Ifyou want to compare it to another game, I guess you could say that it reminds me of the DW/PbtA series of games mixed with solitaire, mechanically speaking. The author states that he was inspired by Legend (an underrated gem, for sure) and Feng Shui, among others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Mortals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Starrunner Kit: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
Publisher: DIY RPG Productions
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2016 16:20:55

Get this. Get it if you GM White Star, get it if you ref Traveller and get it if you GM Hulks and Horrors. Lots of player classes (I like the Changeling and the Alien Psychic Weapon, oh, and the Plant-Like Lifeform the best). A metric buttload of tables for time-pressed GMs rounds out the last half of this book in a very good way. Events, places and other setting dressing automate things for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Starrunner Kit: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates