DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF) $19.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
255 36
47 5
27 2
5 1
9 0
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Dawid J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2020 13:47:57

ZWEIHANDER is an amazing RPG system which is a spiritual successor of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd edition (WFRP 2). If you liked WFRP 2e, and found 3e or 4e not as satisfying - then this system is the one to go with.

As an additional bonus, this RPG engine is independent from any setting/universe, so you could just as easily fit it into any world you wish - whether Warhammer, Witcher, or even your own!

The overall feel is gritty in a satisfying, fantasy-realistic way and characters do not feel like boring superheroes - instead they're actual people who can find themselves in danger by regular guards, soldiers or bandits. ZWEIHANDER is not all about combat (which it does in a fantastic way), but also about meaningful choices, as well as intrigue paired with creative use of character skills.

You can easily make this into a really fun RPG sandbox if you wish. You can also drive excellent stories and create in any setting you wish. A clear recommendation from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Érico C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 13:28:41

If you like a robust game with interesting mechanics in a dog eat dog world, this one was made for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Sebastián G. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2019 08:43:26

The more comprehensive and streamlined dark fantasy game I've ever read. It has all the virtues of old school d100 but with a modern perspective that lacks the excesive book-keeping and system flaws in other dark fantasy rulesets. My absolute favorite TTRPG right now. Quality and quantity for this price is top notch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Brett J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2019 21:58:34

The first e-book for a game that I enjoy! I have rapidly become a big fan of this game and the system. Give the ebook a tey then buy the hard copy for the sheer joy it induces!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Jorge J. V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2019 14:38:41

So, some people are giving poor reviews because the book is not misogynistyc or transphobic as they would have liked, or because this game is not a different game. Damn!

I give 5 stars because the system is excellent, the writing is for the most part great (there's some ambiguity, but nothing a good call from the referee can't solve), the artwork is perfect, the layout is almost perfect, the options are great, the rules are easy (there are many rules and it's hard to learn everything, but it's easy to make a ruling when in doubt).

If there is one thing I really miss, is a character creation example. It took me long to make one (because the character sheet is huge and I made it while I was reading the book for the first time; that's how I learn, theory and practice at the same time). Still, it's not real a flaw.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Brendan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2019 11:35:03

This works on a d100 system and it has a dark and gritty atmosphere - there was a lot of roleplaying flavour in character creation too. The class system was really interesting and reminded me of sword of mana for gba.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Marc F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 15:31:17

It's great that there's some competition to the other big d100 grim rpg, but this one is written by people who don't understand good RPG rules. If you want fluff and loose system, it's OK. If you want a good ruleset that stands up to any kind of scrutiny, move along.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Ricardo M. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:24:33

I've liked the book very much. The love and care of the Authors is overflowing, the descriptions are witty and the illustrations are awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Sorry to hear you had that experience, Ricardo. As a rule, our company doesn't log in on the weekends to respond to customers requests. That being said, I believe we now have you taken care of. If you feel there is something else we could do, please email me direct: daniel@grimandperilous.com
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Douglas G P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 15:44:12

This is abviously a labour of love, and it shows. the detail is incredible and the art direction is fun and evokative; it is very reminicent of 80's rpgs. The system though is robust yet easily accessible upon first reading. It may look daunting but it is not. There are so many nods to rpgs and gaming from the past and present that it keeps us looking for easter eggs. I am extreemly happy with my purchase. As an aside, the book sets out to be inclusive, intentionally using "they/them" for he/her, I believe that this is an amazing editorial decision and one we, as a community, should applaud, for we should be looking to grow the community of RPGers and not alienate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 10:27:27

Im sure this is a good game, Im sure its written decently.

I liked the stories at the beginning.

But then I got to this :

GENDER NEUTRALITY Throughout this book, you’ll note that we use the singular ‘they’ (along with its inflected forms like them or their) for indeterminate gender. However, our play examples will typically reference the gendered pronoun appropriate to the gender of the player or their Character.

Why does this have to be in the book? Why does this diversity BS have to find its way into RPGS?

This is a fantasy world. I dont want real life, or SJW BS in my games. Come to my table, have fun, leave the real world out of it.

So I give it 3 stars, and probably will never play it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by kourrie r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 10:38:06

A friend had GM'ed a sesh with G&P: Zwei, and fell in love instantly with how it plays. There is a massive system for character class customization, and then more with expansions. Battles are also very high tension and entertaining as well, with bleeding and injurys being a very real threat, but not just physical, but also mental threats as well. I would also say that G&P:Zwei is very flexible for GM's and players. I highly suggest G&P:Zwei to anyone who is a fan of pen & paper RPGS, and that if someone needs help with G&P:Zwei, the community is very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 09:16:33

You can find my full review on Sticky Bunton by following this link.

But for TL;DR:

If you are a fan of Warhammer or related Grimdark adventures, then you absolutely cannot go wrong with this game. It's one part OSR, one part 21st Century update to a classic genre, and overall an excellent addition to a gamer's collection.

The game is a bit daunting for new or unprepared GMs, though, and as an OSR retroclone, it possesses a number of the problems of that era of gaming.

Overall, it's a good game with solid support, new products to expand on it, and really scratches that itch for a good grimdark game. Pick it up if you're a fan, dedicated to the genre, or a GM that loves the resources this provides, but sidestep it if you aren't a fan of grimdark or rules-heavy games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by W C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2018 09:31:05

700 pages of tremendous work. This book is a labor of love and it really shows. Also great value for money, particularly if you pick it up during one of their frequent sales. This is a much better version of Warhammer Fantasy that the ones put out by Fantasy Flight games, and very compatible to adventure modules made for Warhammer Fantasy versions 1 and 2. If you like Warhammer or any other kind of gritty fantasy, just get this, you won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Richard V. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:43:34

I've had so much fun reading through this book, and the creative ideas are flowing. Now to just convince my players that it's not scary and to no be afrade of the 700 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Martin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 05:54:27

I haven't actually played this yet, but I can say that.... It looks great, it's well written and it's full of great ideas for really grim and perilous gaming. I particularly enjoyed the bestiary, which features original takes on a wide range of traditional fantasty creatures, which I'm sure will make it across to all kinds of games I'll run in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates