DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Battle Armor
 

This product is no longer available from DriveThruRPG.com

Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 0
0 4
0 3
0 2
0 0
Battle Armor
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/23/2006 00:00:00

Armor is one of those odd things that people seem to know is important and they get it for their characters but it does not seem all that popular. Armor is passive in nature; it rarely has much game feel or options especially in the more modern game. Weapons usually outclass armor; it seems to have been that way for centuries if not longer. Modern armor is sleek, lightweight, and rarely covers more then the torso. The days of the large, cumbersome full suits are over. But Battle Suits wants to bring them back. This book offers nine battle suits for the near future and one for the not so distant past.

Battle Armor is a new PDF by Interactive Design Adventures. They are best known for the PDF stand ins an alternative to miniatures. The book is written by Owens K. C. Stevens and is twenty pages long. The PDF comes in two version one made for the computer screen the other for printing. The Layout is a little spacious and the text a but big. The art is black and white pencil drawing and the borders make it feel like one is reading a notebook. Unfortunately the text does not match that feel being what is usually for a book. Instead they could have added some notes as if written by a person reporting about the armors or just something a little more colorful like that. The book is book marked.

Each armor is given some basic stats like defense value, maximum dexterity bonus, movement rate, armor check penalty, what can be attached to it, and some other basics. Each is also given a nice description that discusses how it came to be about and the success of the battle armor. At times it almost reads as historical recounts.

The ten different armors are all pretty different. They range from the Tin Man which is designed for the 1930?s to the Deathsuit which is used in near future death games. Each suit of armor has a nice description and comes with some basic equipment. There is also the Thinsuit, a piece of armor that could be worn under someone?s cloths and easily concealed.

The armors are interesting but might not really be powerful enough to really protect against the weapons they will be going up against. There is a nice variety and with the history of the armor is can easily be used to represent something more. The campaign can be shown to reflect these histories so the armor actually has a reason for being developed and not just there as some equipment in future games seems to be. The art and layout could use some improving and I would have liked if each Battle Armor occupied its own page instead of having them occupy pages together. That would allow for one to print out just the armor they want to use. There are some good ideas and I would recommend this book for someone looking for Battle armor in their modern or futuristic games.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Jim F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2006 00:00:00

I got this to help me shoehorn in some powered armor designs for Spycraft 2.0. It worked ok, but I couldn't go into depth with it. Your milage may vary.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Charles B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2006 00:00:00

Battle Armors is a very handy and useful supplement for D20 Future armors. Owen K.C. Stephens serves up his usual quality of work. This supplement details a few new pieces of gear, 10 new futuristic armors, and some printable stand-ins (stand-ins are best printed on cardstock). Good value. Good product. The only "complaint" I might have would be the lack of color illustrations for all the armors. The sketches are good, but leave me wanting more.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Most of the armors.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Would like to have seen color illustrations instead of sketches. But in keeping with my personal policy of not marking a product down based on art if that's not the focus, I'm not marking it down for that.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Chad H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2006 00:00:00

A decent product that was a bit disappointing overall. I know they were taking a generalist approach, but the armors are so vastly different that it is jarring and in some cases, silly. A more focused approach could have made this a good reference.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Clearly laid out entries, decent quality of artwork, some good ideas.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A decent set of rules for generating the armor would have made a world of difference. The art is...lacking..for some of the entries. The product lacks any cohesive feel, and the armors range from gritty near future to Mad Max meets Blade Runner to bad 50's science fiction.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2005 00:00:00

I like this one. While some may want a customizable armor construction system, you really can already do that with the Polymecha series from Devil's Workshop and the Medium Mecha rules from Ronin Arts' Future product line. This is more for those who just want a few pregenerated powersuits to add to their campaign so that outfitting the villain and his thugs isn't an all-night project involving hours of computing purchase DCs and juggling open equipment slots.

While several of the armors shown would fit in a Space Opera, Cyberpunk, or even Post-Apocalyptic setting, there are several, notably the Tin Man, Centurion, and Long Rifle suits that just scream "Comic Book Superhero/Supervillain." The arts style of the individual armor illustrations and the Stand-In minis at the end also reinforce the Comic-book feel. Not that that's a bad thing, I'm looking to participate in a D20 Marvel Supers campaign soon and these would be perfect additions.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nice versatility of potential settings. Space Opera, Cyberpunk, Post-Apocalypse, Anime-Inspired, Near-Future Technothriller, and Pulp/Comic Book all have something they can use here.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Art, while pretty nifty designs, doesn't always match the feel of the background given for some of the suits. I.e., the Marauder suit is presented as a mass-produced military shock troopers' armor, but is illustrated as a skull-studded horror from Doctor Demonicus's closet.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2005 00:00:00

A nice "cinematic" treatment sci-fi armor for d20. Some of the designs are a little implausible (the long rifle armor, for instance, would have some serious recoil and weight-management issues) but they're fun enough where, if you're like me, you just won't care. (The aforementioned armor lets you shoulder-mount a HUGE weapon, and allows for some pretty cool shock troops...) The artwork is excellent, and the armor all seems to have been drawn around a common frame, giving an excellent sense of proportion and scale between the suits. I know that some others have panned this release, and I think that's a shame. I've already gotten some good use out of it, and have found it to be a wonderful creative catalyst.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00

The armor is illogical and un-reasonable. Maybe one or two sets of armor that are of any value. Would have been better if an inovative armor design or customization system and been included.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Presented multiple types of armor<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: To many of the armor sets don't make sense.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2005 00:00:00

Worth it but only barely. The pictures are nice to look at, the flavor text is interesting if not always consistent with the mechanics, and it very simply and easily ties the various armors to the existing Light / Medium / Heavy armor system. Unfortunately the armors are either uselessly weak or hideously over-powered, the gadgets for the armors are inconsistent even when they arrived during the same era, and I was generally off put by the "one man show" feel of the product. It felt like it was done by one person without any input from anyone else leading to a very narrow focus on a very wide concept.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It takes a unique approach to the creation and use of powered armor. They are just other suits of (light, medium, heavy) that happen to have extras built into them. Also, good pictures.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The armors themselves were weak and uninspired by my standards.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Armor
Publisher: IDA
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2005 00:00:00

There are 10 types of powered armor. One of them is for a 1930's sort of steampunk game, but it does remind me a bit of the "Silent Storm" armor types. I don't like steampunk, so that didn't interest me.

However, the other 9 armors are good. One is a form of concealed armor, another reminds me of what they would wear in a sort of "Running Man" competition, and I could see soldiers wearing the others.

The artwork is good, too.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Some great examples of what you can do with power armor<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I didn't care for the layout. It was put in a printer-friendly way (to conserve paper), but I think that each armor type on its own page(s) so that you can look at and print just that armor. Also some jpegs of the armors that are separated from the file itself would be great.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates