DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Electric Bastionland
Publisher: Bastionland Press
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2021 16:32:43

Great game. Everything unnecessary has been removed, everything left in works. Combat is actually quick! ...and very deadly. The background is interesting and a bit crazy. Character generation is random to say the least, some people may not like that. The failed careers and communal debt are nice touches; who doesn't love a Squid Bagger? The idea generators are useful, I also found some Numenera resources worked well with this. Character progression does not really occur in these rules, if your players need that I would advise lifting those rules from "Into the Odd". I ran a campaign with this which lasted about 6 months and it worked really well. It has become my "Lite" rules of choice and am currently using it with some random generators for quick pick-up games. Oh, and the artwork is fantastic too! You can get some game ideas by just looking at the pictures. I hope to see more of Sorensen's work in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Electric Bastionland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2020 16:25:30

I have been using these rules to play a full-on fantasy campaign and I have to say they are working remarkably well. The party have escaped an evil temple, got drunk, found an underground city of ratmen, had a run-in with a demon, got drunk, been sent on a holy mission, got drunk, aquired a ship, got it wrecked, got drunk (pattern forming here) and been attacked by orcs in a forest because the wizard couldn't keep quiet. The rules are simple enough that I can make NPCs and enemies on the fly. I don't spend time looking up tables or puzzling out what the rules mean, I can just get on with GMing.

Everyone is having fun. It is actually a great ruleset.

It is very crunch-light which may not be to everyones taste, but for throwing the players into a ripping yarn it's great!

PS. We ended up getting a 2-year campaign out of this. We had a mix from very experienced players to complete newbies. It all worked amazingly well. Great fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Stygian Library
Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2019 16:24:17

This is a strange, clever and oddly beautiful book. Essentially a bizzare library generator, the descriptions are highly evocative and creative. You can get loads of ideas just from flicking through it.

It is intended to bo used at the table to create the environment on the fly, but I cheated and used it as a pre-generator as my group has a poor inactivity threshold.

Lots of lovely fantasy art from the early 20th century (copyright expired), I've discovered a few artists I hadn't heard of.

I've been using it in a USR adventure so I had to recreate the stats for that, but it wasn't hard. The players loved this part of the adventure and it certainly put them outside their comfort zone.

Emmy Allen/Cavegirl is one of the most imaginative and different RPG writers out there at the moment. I look forward to reading more of her stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Stygian Library
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space 1889 - Canal Priests of Mars
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2015 17:07:58

Been playing this with my usual gaming group using a home-made mashup of Dead Simple and Savage Worlds rules. We have played it as a Saturday morning serial type pulp adventure and had a great time. We have played 5 sessions and not even got to Mars yet! The players were having an unexpectedly good time shmoozing with the other passengers on the Princess Alexandra so I let them get on with it. Some of the story ideas in the book would not work with the party I have, but it was easy to make up appropriate storylines just from reading the passenger list and imagining what they would get up to.

Space 1889 has some fantastic background material for very little cost and I will be chucking some of that in as I go along with this campaign. There is easily enough material to keep going for years if we want to. And we just might...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space 1889 - Canal Priests of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RGP011 - Sci-Fi Scenics - Set 1 - Hover Taxi and Hover Car
Publisher: Roleplay Geek Publishing
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2014 16:58:18

Simple but nice model. My first one took about an hour and a half from print to completion, I think if I did 2 at once I could do that in about 2 hours (work on one while the other dries).

It's a bit fiddly but then models of this size usually are, it is otherwise quite straightforward. You have to build the ends then wrap the middle over them. My only real criticism is that the last flap you glue is at the top where it is easily visible; this is where any inaccuracies earlier in the build usually show up so that's not really a good place. If you build carefully and accurately it's not too bad though.

In 28mm scale they are about the size of a medium family car and they come in a nice range of colours.

So if you want a few hover cars lying around in your next game of Infinity that aren't too hard to build and you don't want to spend too much (one dollar!) these are for you. I will be getting my dollars worth anyway!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RGP011 - Sci-Fi Scenics - Set 1 - Hover Taxi and Hover Car
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Village Chapel Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2012 14:25:39

Excellent model, but rather more demanding to build than most of DG's stuff. I replaced the windows with OHP film and put a light inside, it looks amazing. The main interior is large enough that you could build it with a lift-off roof and use it as gaming space. I could imaging this being used as an objective in all sorts of games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Chapel Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storehouse Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2012 14:17:52

Easy model to make, takes up a good bit of table real estate. I think it would be quite easy to convert into a model with an interior and removable roof , something I plan to try out soon. It should be a good model for a beginner as there is plenty of room to fiddle about in and it is a very useful bit of terrain for a lot of periods.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storehouse Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tall Hostel Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2012 18:01:30

Yet another nice model from DG. Good for small, 'affordable' housing; I stapled 3 together to make a terrace/tenamemt block.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tall Hostel Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Paper Modeling Guide
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 17:05:17

Very useful guide; I had never thought of reverse scoring, it improves the look of the models no end. Lots of useful stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paper Modeling Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outbuildings Paper Models Set
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 16:58:03

I have built the barn, nice model and very easy to build. Extremely useful as you can fit it in with just about any game. I will be building the other stuff later.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbuildings Paper Models Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Country House Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 16:52:25

I actually adapted it in GIMP and just used the central building as an asylum/orphanage/jail. It was easy enough to do and looks quite foreboding. The model went together well and was straight forward to build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Country House Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Asylum Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 16:45:03

Nice grim-looking structure, perfect for Malifaux. The basic version is easy enough to put together, I'll be building some of the more difficult versions later. Very adaptable, I expect to see a few variations of this on my table soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Asylum Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coach House Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2012 12:45:33

Very nice substantial building. Easy to put together, all the parts fit well. Looks great when assembled. You don't have to have the coach house doors on it, so it can be used just as a large building. Had some difficulty with the chimney, but nothing a bit superglue couldn't sort out! A bit of internal bracing is a good idea as it is quite large. You could probably coax 2 smaller houses out of these plans with a bit of imagination. I have bought a load more Dave Graffam buildings on the strength of this kit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coach House Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates