DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Seas of Vodari (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2021 10:50:48

My review is based on reading only. I have bought the product in august 2020 when I was looking for another setting that the usual Forgotten Realms.

I liked this product very much, I don't know if I will run adventures in it but I'm impressed by the Quality of the work. The PDF is thorough: you have species, a new class, backgrounds, a full pantheon, a gazetteer of the important kingdoms and a few adventure seeds, you have also new monsters, spell and magic items. The icing on the cake? An introductory adventure with a treasure hunt :).

Clearly it's a very good third-party setting I strongly recommend if you like seafaring swashbuckling adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Seas of Vodari (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Publisher: Angry Games, Inc.
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 09:10:12

I've decided to do a better review of Game Angry, a more objective one if I may say so.

So I read it thoroughly trying to be as neutral as possible and there are some really good tips in it for new RPG players and GM, however I really don't like some others things in that book. The authors is always telling he is smarter than you and cricizing GM who does not do as him and I feel personnally attacked when I read that I am not a smart GM to do things my way instead of his.

So I've decided to take the interesting advices of this book and leave the tone out of my reading just to keep the good advices.

. Still the book's tone is taken in account in my note.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures - Le Quadrant Bêta
Publisher: Arkhane Asylum Publishing
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2021 16:04:52

La traduction est correcte (j'ai l'ouvrage en VO) et je n'ai rien à dire sur le sujet, je n'ai lu le PDF qu'en diagonale alors je n'ai pas remarqué s'il y avait des coquilles. Ce que je trouve dommage c'est que le PDF n'a aucun marque-page.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures - Le Quadrant Bêta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Condensed
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2020 11:12:21

I read this one after reading Fate Core so.

I liked a bit more the reading of this Fate book, the rules are much better explained than Fate Core and the book is less big to read (60 pages only).

The issue is I don't thinks this book is useable if you want to use the thing called Extras in Fate Core because they aren't present here. If you create a setting which does not need extra, it"s fine but if that's not the case, well there are no explanations on how you deal with it. If you never read Fate Core before, you don't even know that you lack tools to improve your Fate Experience.

Still the book has plenty of optional rules so...I think you better with Fate Condensed than Fate Core.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Condensed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2020 11:06:19

I tried to read thrice this book, in english and in french. I liked character creation and how the mechanic runs. I'm stil lost on how to gm these rules. They seem a lot too abstract to men, I'm confused by the lack of true rules for Magic, Hadware or whatever they call "Extras" so maybe I will play it in the future as a player but not as a GM, I don't feel it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[SUPERS RED]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
Publisher: Fainting Goat Games
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2020 18:16:38

I'm not totally convinced by the Supers Red version of this adventure (I have the original Icons one). Reason number one is common to Icons version : there are a lot of random encounters table which reminds me of a fantasy dungeon and that's not something I expect from a superhero adventure. Reason number two is specific to Supers version: Supers has Mooks and Henchmen simple rules which are not used here. Each mook is fully created like a full fledged super-villain and not with the simpler mook or Henchmen rating. That's more a character to character conversion than a rule conversion so the adaptation is not entirely correctly done. The adventure is still good however and that's why I give it three stars.I'm not totally convinced by the Supers Red version of this adventure (I have the original Icons one). Reason number one is common to Icons version : there are a lot of random encounters table which reminds me of a fantasy dungeon and that's not something I expect from a superhero adventure. Reason number two is specific to Supers version: Supers has Mooks and Henchmen simple rules which are not used here. Each mook is fully created like a full fledged super-villain and not with the simpler mook or Henchmen rating. That's more a character to character conversion than a rule conversion so the adaptation is not entirely correctly done. The adventure is still good however and that's why I give it three stars



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[SUPERS RED]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Menagerie
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2020 04:10:11

Menagerie est un supplément pour Icons dont le thème est les animaux, qu'ils soient communs, légendaires, disparus (je parle des dinosaures qui sont là eux aussi) ou fantastiques. Vous y trouverez un bestiaire très complet ainsi que des templates et des conseils pour les customiser à votre sauce : vous voulez un chat géant qui est en réalité un esprit ? C'est possible !

Menagerie is a supplement for Icons whose theme is animals, whether common, legendary, extinct (I'm talking about the dinosaurs who are there too) or fantastic. You will find a very complete bestiary there as well as templates and tips to customize them to your liking: do you want a giant cat who is actually a spirit? It's possible !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Odyssey: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Campaign Management
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2020 14:53:00

I bought Odyssey because a friend gave me a copy and I liked the whole PDF so I decided to buy the bundle including Focal Point and Never Unprepared.

This one is about managing a campaigns: campaign concept, campaign framework, first session, story, people and character management, how to end a campaign etc.

I think this is a good reading for any GM whatever their skill level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Campaign Management
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Necessary Evil: Necessary Races
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 15:32:52

Adaptation of the Necessary Evil's races to the Supers Powers Companion 2nd edtion. Much needed information :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Necessary Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
Publisher: Green Ronin Publishing
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 15:25:55

I do not run the 2nd edition of Mutants & Masterminds anymore but when I read it for the first time, I remembered thinking it was really a good products for people playing M&M for the first time (a bit like the Basic Hero's Handbook for 3rd edition). if you are still using M&M 2nd edition and pretty new to it, this is a good purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM Primer - Fourth Edition (Big Eyes, Small Mouth)
Publisher: Dyskami Publishing Company
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2020 15:08:04

Well, it is a good introduction to the 4th edition of the 4th edition of BESM with nice improvements. I think I will buy the full version someday. I think that this game can also emulate other genre than animé.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM Primer - Fourth Edition (Big Eyes, Small Mouth)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
Publisher: HAZARD Studio
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 15:42:49

I have bought Supers Revised Edition last year and at first I had difficulties reading it, maybe it was the layout, the art or whatever. The thing is I have read it since and even run two playtests and my players really enjoyed this game. My experience so far is with 20D characters, the superhero power level.

The game engine use a D6 mechanics not unlike the system used in Ghostbusters, Star Wars and Men in Black but the game is simpler because it doesn't use pips (+1, +2), there is no wild die (it is an optional rule) and the scale is simpler (normal human is 1D not 2).

The strengths of this game for me are these ones :

  • Characters are easy to create with a budget of creation dices low enough for not feeling overwhelmed but sufficient enough for not feeling constricted by a budget limit
  • The gamut of character creation is diversified enough to create plenty of different character concepts and to adapt characters from other game systems
  • The game system is easy, roll you pool of D6 dices (usually 1 to 6) add the results and beat a Target Number, either a TN decided by the Judge (the game master, name in this game) or decided by the defense chosen by the opponent. If the TN is beaten by 6, it is a Major success and by 12 a Superior success.
  • The game is versatile, you can attack and defend with various powers, resistances and aptitudes depending on the situation
  • You have several ways to get hurt, you decide which resistances is lowered when hit by a blast for instance depending how you decide how it affects you narratively

The game fills all my requirements for a superhero RPG. Still I don't feel thrilled by it, I suppose this is a lack of experience with it so I think the next test run I could do with it is run a superhero campaign ;-).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:18:10

The best edition of BESM so far, it is sad Guardians of Order has closed its doors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Necessary Evil: Alien Update
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:14:55

Useful if you want run Necessary Evil with the updated Super-Powers Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Alien Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide (SWADE Edition)
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:10:36

This is a book I waited for a long time. I love the Rifts setting but I hate the native system. I have tried to adapt the setting myself for a long time but succeed.

Now Rifts is a Savage Worlds setting and the adaptation is very good, good bye MDC and Mega-Damage, welcome Heavy Weapon and Heavy Armor :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide (SWADE Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates