DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Grimdark: Deadly, Nasty Rules for the World's Most Ubiquitous RPG
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2021 04:01:32

This is the best hardcore hack of 5e there ever was. Everything my players tried to front on was in it. When I presented it, they felt the horror of their hubris, the weight of their folly - they quaked in anticipation of their fates. It's not just the difficulty. The stuff that you always wished for in a grim dark 5e hack is in it. The overhauls are near perfection. There is no other option over Grimdark for grim-dark 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimdark: Deadly, Nasty Rules for the World's Most Ubiquitous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Snakepipe Hollow Map & Denizens
Publisher: Chaosium
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2020 21:23:13

I was curious about this product because of the map-aides and higher price point. I was hoping to get something of equal or greater quality to some of the better maps on here. Instead, it has poorly detailed maps reminiscent of vomit and low-grade art monsters that could be bested by a first-time mspaint user.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Snakepipe Hollow Map & Denizens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Half-Ooze: A stretchy, squishy, and very hungry playable race
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2020 00:57:00

This is very well thought out and unique. I incorporate this race in all of my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Half-Ooze: A stretchy, squishy, and very hungry playable race
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Lost Magicka: A Homebrew For Equality Charity Project
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 14:15:30

This is a great addition to the library! There is a mix of new ideas that I hadn't seen as well as reimagined concepts done very well. They are all very well balanced for play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Lost Magicka: A Homebrew For Equality Charity Project
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grim Castle Rules
Publisher: Mason Waaler
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 13:47:18

This is a highly customizable, pointbuy, mana system D&D clonesque RPG that I am here for. I will stan this system til the day I die. If you are interested in getting out of the boxes that cause all sorts of inane design decisions related to class ownership of weapons, abilities and character development; if you are sick of vancian magic systems requiring you to consider spell-slots; if you sigh everytime you consider that one class isn't smart enough to know how to stab with martial weapons but can figure out the mysteries of the universe; then this book and this system is for you. Mason Waaler has retained the classic D&D feel but elevated the execution to the standard that helped wake up from the fanboy fog back when other systems started to take the spotlight from D&D back in the 80's and 90's. Take control of your character and their advancement. Get this inexpensive, easy to learn masterpiece for your DM and shatter their preconceptions of what a fantasy game should be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim Castle Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grim Castle Rules - Grimoire
Publisher: Mason Waaler
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 13:43:00

Pick up this superb book for your grim castle game or if you just want to see a mana system done well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim Castle Rules - Grimoire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The City Altharid Built
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2020 15:49:52

The City Altharid Built sets a high standard for adventures. You don't get this level of DM aides anywhere else. This is definitely worth the price on so many levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City Altharid Built
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! It is reviews like this that make all the work well worth it!
Catrina's Catalogue of Underwarren Wares
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 02:21:53

The design of the layout, the content, the feel- this book is amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Catrina's Catalogue of Underwarren Wares
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nightbane® World Book 6: Dark Designs™
Publisher: Palladium Books
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 02:20:26

This is one of the greatest roleplaying books of all time. Not only does it provide new, inspired, creation tables and powers it also compiles the old ones to make it an absolute must buy. The level of creativity in the player options is unparalleled.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nightbane® World Book 6: Dark Designs™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jackson Vorbis' Marvelous Inventions (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2020 03:58:49

This is terrible. I have made better notes mid session while talking about something else. The ideas aren't bad but they most definitely aren't unique or even completely executed. Come on, really? Most people wouldn't even think to charge for this. Ridiculous.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Jackson Vorbis' Marvelous Inventions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I am sorry you did not enjoy it :( In hindsight they are not terribly unique, but they are good if you need something quick and you cannot figure out something right away I thought so anyway! :) I do appreciate your review though! If you got any tips of things I should change do let me know, outside of the charging a dollar :)
Residuum
Publisher: D Clef Games
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2020 03:18:18

Post-Apocahantas Dystopian Scifi complete with subfactions of natives accepting new normal, rejecting new normal or dying in droves due to either infighting or the diseases the colonists brought with them. The colonizers are not well fleshed out but they are real guilty about all this. Every part of the setting seems truncated, perhaps so that you can flesh it out, yourselves. I would love to see more details on the setting in future sourcebooks. Right now, the game has enough detail to get you started, if you're creative.
The system is pretty light but with enough substance to support it's mechanics and character creation is marvelously easy. Jumping in and understanding it would hardly be an effort for experienced roleplayers and new players wouldn't have to spend months learning fine details and esoteric mechanics.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Residuum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the great review, Tom. That's exactly what I was going for. I wanted to keep the setting open and allow GMs to create whatever they wanted. The basic setting is implied through the character class narratives, the journal entry in the beginning of the book, as well as the character creation section for each race (Human, Mutant, and Bellati), but the GM will be required to fill in the details. I am always changing prewritten campaigns to fit with my group's style anyway, so it's just my personal preference to leave out those specifics; I'd rather just do it myself. If you are a brand new RPGs I don't think you could hop into Residuum and just play. But for anybody that has run a campaign or built a world, this game should feel like a comfortable transition with lots of freedom. Plus, I did include some world building tactics (complete with idea seeds) in a chapter for GMs, so you will have some tools at your disposal. Thanks for the purchase, and I hope you enjoy!
The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana (game soundtrack)
Publisher: Monolith Graphics
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2020 16:14:24

This was great! I would separate this into three categories of tonal feel: Firstly, a few tracks of this are 'story builders' that you would have in the background while, for instance, investigating a conspiracy. Secondly, A couple of the tracks are great combat tracks - strong tempo but, not too many abrupt changes in volume or unsettling shifts in instrument. Finally, there are a couple good boss fight tracks that have just enough despair in them to rule out regular ole combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana (game soundtrack)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witchcraft: Magic of Hereva (5e)
Publisher: Xacur
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2020 21:29:25

The art might be cute but, this is, hands-down, the best version of a witch class to grace D&D so far. There was just one archetype (out of 6) that I felt got the short shrift in conversion to D&D but it is still thematically sound and that may be most important in an endeavour like this supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchcraft: Magic of Hereva (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pied Piper
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2020 21:21:39

A good, quick adventure. You could run it as written but, it's got enough room in it to customize. A good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pied Piper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Old Margreve for 5th Edition
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2019 00:43:05

This is the setting for your wilderness party. Rangers, Druids and other wilderness focused PCs have a chance to shine. A colorful environment that looms large and becomes, not only a feature but, a character unto itself. A must for Midgard fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Old Margreve for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates