DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition) $19.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 8
4 0
0 0
1 0
0 1
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Neill H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2021 03:16:43

A phenomenal book which has a surprisingly broad range of topics, all covered in surprising depth. Each of the individual cults are evocatively written up, but also presented with clear guidance of how to involve them in a game as a Storyteller, or how to play as a cult member as a player. These aren't just one-note religious cults which one would think is a neat concept, but with no way to use them, either - each of them are interesting, different from one another and nicely explores a Kindred theme. On top of these, which would be enough on its own, the chapter on the Hecata is glorious, prompting me to write up a character there and then without any relevant game in sight, and despite my lack of pre-existing feeling towards the Giovanni or any other other necromantic Clans. I can't recommend this book highly enough, and whilst I'd say that Chicago By Night is a more critical "must-have" for V5, especially for anyone new to VTM in general, this may actually be a better book overall, making it the best of V5 so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2021 15:51:53

This is a brilliantly written and constructed book focusing on the subject of vampires and faith. It contains Kindred and mortal cults to use as allies or antagonists, as well as the chilling return of the Clans of Death, now united as the Hecata. Full review below!

http://thetabletopalmanac.wordpress.com/2021/03/12/cults-of-the-blood-gods-vampire-the-masquerade-5th-edition



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Dan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2021 12:16:48

The content is great, but the I paid for the $60.00 premium book, which arrived with the top corners of each page smashed in. The damage was not the result of shipping. The color is muted and the paper is not high quality. This "premium" version of the book is not worth the asking price. I'm very displeased. Poor quality printing and binding through and through. If you need this book for your campaign, go with the PDF only.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 05:53:26

By far my favourite Onyx Path book. Introducing the Cults and Cultists of Kindred kind, and of course Clan Hecata, in all their glory. For those seeking context on beliefs, (sometimes blood) rituals, the structure, and favoured new powers of the following factions, please consider this book:

  • Ashfinders (Duskborn/Thin-Blood).
  • The Bahari.
  • Church of Caine.
  • Church of Set.
  • Shalimites.
  • Mithrists.
  • Nephilims.

Cults of the Blood Gods break down each, showing just how they fit and operate in the modern nights. It supplies you with additional examples and the tools to create your own, drawing from elements both living and dead.

--

As for the Cult, -I mean.. Clan of Death:

Initially I wasn't entirely sure how the Hecata could or even would work given the clan/bloodline’s history. Reading over the material, I was pleasantly surprised. They can and do cooperate well as V5’s big “happy” family.

So much so, that I can honestly say that the Hecata has become my favourite.

They feel unlike any other clan in V5. The approach to the various faces featured in the family gives a unique outlook and perspective for the members that make the whole. It adds depth and gives credence to the familial feel. You can hate one-another, hurt one-another, have done terrible things to one-another... but at the end of the day you’re still family. Something to keep in mind when you’re walking the line between sects, and have plenty of enemies who might want to see you fall.

--

In addition to all this, Chapter 8 introduces Styx and Bones. The first foray into Munich, bringing back some old names and faces, providing adventurous stories to tackle, antagonists, and ready-made characters.

Onyx Path has really put love and care into the material. You can see, feel, and experience it. At least, I hope you do. Please give this book a try, because I truly love it and revisit it often. There’s always more to find and uncover between these pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 04:33:43

It's debatable as to whether this is my favourite book from the V5 range, as it shares the top spot with Chicago by Night. In my mind an essential purchase for the gameline, and the introduction and detailing of the various kindred religions expands upon an area that was largley ignored in previous editions. I cannot recomend this product enough and look forward to seeing more content of this quality!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2021 10:27:32

CotBG is excellent and probably the most essential addition to the V5 game line. It collects all of the clans of death, now condensed into bloodlines under a single 'family' clan, the Hecata. This book is big, it has the Harbringers, the Samedi, the Nagarajah and yes, my favorite clan of Revised edtion, the Giovanni. Included are rules for their unique discipline of Necromancy which now falls under the purview of Oblivion, tapping into the powers of the Underworld to fuel their necromancy; thematically one of the best representations of this power in any edition of VtM, (yes, it should taint your soul). Additionally you get Loresheets to represent all of the death clan bloodlines in the event you want to play a more unique vampire. You get a great story that focuses on these clans, though you dont have to be Hecata to play in it. Onyx Path delivers yet another steller book to expand the core rules of V5 and I hope to see more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:19:08

Aside from re-introducing the Hecata back into V5, what does this book actually add to your game?

1) Each of the included Major Religions/Cults is full of useful world building and Character options. The history and general motivations of each group, make it easy to include them into any campaign. 2) Examples of progression through the various groups, give Players something tangible to work toward, if they want. 3) New SPCs to fill the emptiness of the night. Let's be honest not everyone has the time/desire to sit down and create a mix of random characters to throw at their player's chracters. We get new Animals, Ghosts, Ghouls, Kindred, and Mortals. What storyteller doesn't like having options to pull from? 4) Survival is easier in a group right? Included are multiple new Coterie types to help flavor your Story/Domain, or maybe just find a better fit for a particular group/setting. 5)The new Powers, and Rituals/Ceremonies help to build interesting if not terrifying Characters for players and storytellers alike. Expanded options to Oblivion for bringing Necromancy back to the table and fleshing out the Hecata. Several of the included faiths introduce unique powers all their own, and could easily be used to remind players just how monstrous Vampires can be. 6)Bloodlines not neccesarily enough remaining to call themselves a clan anymore, but they are still here. A useful inclusion to add even more flexability in allowing players to create the character they want to play. Again, options are good. 7) Yeah it's called Humanity. Regardless of what it is called, it is what keeps you from falling to the beast within. The inclusion of Conviction lists for each of the major faiths, demonstrates how a Vampire might differ from say a Human, in their thoughts and actions.

I don't want to give away everything that is inluded in Cults of the Blood Gods but you'll be glad you got your hands on this one! This is a great resource for Storytellers and Players alike, both new and established.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2021 22:52:53

tl:dr Cults of the Blood Gods reintroduces the Clan of Death to V5, gives details on vampiric cults, provides new mechanics (loresheets, powers, predator types, etc), and gives a story featuring the Clan of Death to tell.

As a fan of Vampire: the Masquerade lore, Cults of the Blood Gods is easily one of my favorite V5 releases to date. This book opens with a well written fiction giving just a hint of how the Hecata came to be formed, with several smaller additional pieces after the introduction. Those first pieces gives a good taste for what is to come in the rest of the book.

I'll be honest, none of necromany based clans or bloodlines in prior editions ever really caught my eye, with the possible visual presentation of Baron Samedi. Other than using one as an SPC as a Storyteller, I hadn't been interested in playing one. Cults of the Blood Gods spurred my interest in playing a character of the recently formed Hecata clan. The merging into one clan creates many interesting roleplaying opportunites, whether it be between the different factions of the clan, the opportunity to play through what happened within the clan once the Family Reunion takes effect, or how they present themselves to outsiders under the Hecata banner. I like how Oblivion is presented and the steps taken to differentiate Oblivion Ceremonies from Blood Sorcery Rituals.

While vampric relgion has been addressed in other V5 books, none have done so in a way that has felt playable. Cults of the Blood Gods dives deeper into the subject with multiple cults, some new to Vampire:the Masquerade, some from previous editions that are presented in a way that they still feel new. For the first time in V5 the Bahari, Church of Set, and others feel playable with digging through multiple books from prior editions. In addition to cults for vampires, the book also provides cutls for mortals (that are run by vampires) and a section on how to create your own. Again, the topic of mortal cults have been covered in older editions of VtM however in this book the subject is covered in a way that gives more detail into how cults function. I don't plan on building my own cults, but this book gives you plenty of information on how to do so.

The book ends with Styx and Bones, which gives a story that can be run highlighting the clan of death. It is a decent enough story, I just personally would rather explore other aspects of lore and metaplot presented in this book. If someone asked me to run it as an ST I would, but it is not something I would run on my own.

In addition to the above, Cults of the Blood Gods sprinkles in new machanics in the way of Loresheets, Discipline Powers and Amalgams, Rituals and Ceremonies, Predator and Coterie types, and more. The art through out the book is amazing. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who plays V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2020 22:29:41

Fantastic update for all of the clans of Death in VTM; the Loresheets allow the various bloodlines now united under the Hecata banner to retain some of their original flavor while greatly expanding the range of character options for players who've started in 5E and adds a lot to the current worldscape. Really, really excited to receive my print copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates